Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: lowering PH with out lowing TA

1. Back To Top    #1

lowering PH with out lowing TA

I'm new to a pool ownership . Currently I am trying to lower PH without lowering TA.
    Currently my readings are:
    PH 7.8
    TA 70
    CYN 70
    FC 5
    CH 230
    TDS 1100

When I add acid to the pool I end up lowering my TA to about 40-60 and my PH to 7.4. Then I add Sodium Bicarb to raise the TA to about 100 and up goes my PH. When I add sodium bicarb it raises my TA along with my PH. How can I maintain my PH at 7.2 -7.4 and my TA at 80 - 120 ?
    27x52 Round Opera Prestige (SunSports) AGP - w/hopper deep end (Wilbar insrt.)
    1.5 HP Sta-Rite pump w/21" Premium Sand Filter w/Main Drain installed - ~25,000 gal

2. Back To Top    #2
    When you lower PH, TA will always go down. There isn't any way around that. But when you add baking soda TA should go up much more quickly than PH, so that when you add acid to bring the PH back down you should have gained some ground on TA.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Re: lowering PH with out lowing TA

Quote Originally Posted by jlee1414
    I'm new to a pool ownership . Currently I am trying to lower PH without lowering TA.
    Currently my readings are:
    PH 7.8
    TA 70
    CYN 70
    FC 5
    CH 230
    TDS 1100

When I add acid to the pool I end up lowering my TA to about 40-60 and my PH to 7.4. Then I add Sodium Bicarb to raise the TA to about 100 and up goes my PH. When I add sodium bicarb it raises my TA along with my PH. How can I maintain my PH at 7.2 -7.4 and my TA at 80 - 120 ?