Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: NEW PENTAIR HEATER - SERVICE HEATER ERROR

  1. Back To Top    #1
    wardsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spring, Texas
    Posts
    223

    NEW PENTAIR HEATER - SERVICE HEATER ERROR

    Well, I noticed after start up on Tuesday, they didn't fire up the heater, so I went out last night and turned it on myself and it fired up. After about 1 - 2 min. The service heater light came on. So I shut it down and then did it again. Same thing, it fires up and says heating, then the service heater light comes on again.

    Any suggestions? Could this be to the size of the gas meter?
    Jay
    36' x19' Freeform, 16' waterfall w/ groto and slide, 5' x 10' sundeck, 12" raised spa. Pentair IntelliTouch, Pentair IntelliFlo 4 x 160, Master Temp 400, IntelliChlor Chlorine generator, Aqua Blue PebbleSheen

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    237
    Ward,

    I'll offer my 2 cents.... but its worth less.

    You have the same heater as me. You need 400 cfh of gas (which is btu/1000).

    Your meter has its max capacity stamped on it. My origianal one was 250.

    If you're meter is ok, then you might want to loosen the line coupling near the heater to bleed the air out for about a minute.

    After that, did you run a new line? How far and what size?

    You have to have the flow (400 scfh), and the pressure (4"-11" water column), for it to work properly. The pentair guy struggled with mine quite a while. (He lives in houston...)

    Hope this helps, feel free to ask more

    steve
    18,000 gallon gunite free form, with spa, 4x160, EasyTouch, SWCG, Pentair cartr filter, Colorlogic lights.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    237
    for your conversion convenience:

    1 psi = 16 oz

    1 psi = 27.7 inches of water column


    these three units are used often when measuring natural gas pressure
    18,000 gallon gunite free form, with spa, 4x160, EasyTouch, SWCG, Pentair cartr filter, Colorlogic lights.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    wardsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spring, Texas
    Posts
    223
    Thanks Steve,

    I was thinking it was the pull of gas from the meter...kinda frustrating since I asked a few times during the construction to both the pool builder and the gas company if I needed to change the meter and both told me most likely not. I do only have a 250 CFU stamp on the meter, so I suppose that could be the situation...just when I thought I was done spending money on building this pool!

    Thanks for the advice. I will follow up with Pentair and most likely get the gas company out here to change it out.


    Just to answer your question about the line. The ran a line from the meter to the pad, about 35'. At the pad there are two gas valves, one for the heater and one for the fire pit. At first I thought the heater valve was off, but I checked and checked again and confirmed the gas to the heater was on....
    Jay
    36' x19' Freeform, 16' waterfall w/ groto and slide, 5' x 10' sundeck, 12" raised spa. Pentair IntelliTouch, Pentair IntelliFlo 4 x 160, Master Temp 400, IntelliChlor Chlorine generator, Aqua Blue PebbleSheen

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by wardsntx
    Thanks Steve,

    .just when I thought I was done spending money on building this pool!
    HA HA, that will never happen. Chemicals, somthing else will go wrong, you will find you want to add stuff to. like out door speakers, new patio set, chairs around the pool, pool toys, the list is endless.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    wardsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spring, Texas
    Posts
    223
    That I do already know!

    Already did the outdoor speakers and of course pool toys.

    Next is the outdoor kitchen...ready to start, but the misses says I need to wait a bit for the bank account to come out of shock!
    Jay
    36' x19' Freeform, 16' waterfall w/ groto and slide, 5' x 10' sundeck, 12" raised spa. Pentair IntelliTouch, Pentair IntelliFlo 4 x 160, Master Temp 400, IntelliChlor Chlorine generator, Aqua Blue PebbleSheen

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    237
    My meter was only 250 cfh also.

    Gas company put in a 600 cfh, no problem, no charge. (they'll make their money up with the increased usage)

    With any luck, whatever size line you ran will be able pass enough flow at the right pressure. If not, you might have to have to install a regulator going into your house, and another at your heater. (allowing the higher pressure to go all the way to your heater regulator.)


    Never underestimate how wrong any one answer can be from someone who has no real interest in the situation.
    18,000 gallon gunite free form, with spa, 4x160, EasyTouch, SWCG, Pentair cartr filter, Colorlogic lights.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rocklin, Ca
    Posts
    467
    Jay,

    I know it's off topic, but have you seen the bbqgalore.com message board for outdoor kitchen construction? It is very very useful.

    Kevin
    11000 Gals, Intelliflo, Sta-Rite Cartridge, Polaris 360

    Pool I built in my old house: my-new-pool-build-t4534.html

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    237
    looks like spam
    18,000 gallon gunite free form, with spa, 4x160, EasyTouch, SWCG, Pentair cartr filter, Colorlogic lights.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    ktdave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    888
    Hey, I just checked my gas meter and it also says 250 CFU. I also have the MasterTemp 400K BTU. Does that mean that when my gas house heater cranks up, I may have problems. I have run the heater several times already, a couple of times over a couple of hours without problems.
    11,000 gal. gunite w/midnight blue and white pearl PebbleTec
    Intelliflo 4x160 pump
    Intellichlor IC-20 SWG
    Pentair cartridge filter 420 sq. ft.
    Mastertemp 400K BTU heater
    Legend Platinum cleaner
    Pool School
    JasonLion's Pool Calculator
    TF Test Kits

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rocklin, Ca
    Posts
    467
    Steve,

    What looks like spam?

    BBQ Galore is a reputable company with many many outlets across the country. They are kind enough to host a forum for all things BBQ.

    Kevin
    11000 Gals, Intelliflo, Sta-Rite Cartridge, Polaris 360

    Pool I built in my old house: my-new-pool-build-t4534.html

  12. Back To Top    #12
    SeanB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Missouri City (suburb of Houston, TX)
    Posts
    2,622
    Kevin, you are also welcome to vist my other site, www.grillwithskill.com

    It's new so there's not as much traffic as bbq galore, but we are off to a great start. Also the site is not owned by any company and has nothing to sell - just other outdoor chefs sharing info and goofing off.
    TFP Founder

    My Pool: 13K gal IG gunite with 7' spa, Pentair Cartridge Filter, Intellichlor IC40 SWG, Polaris 280 Cleaner, TF-100 Test Kit w/ salt test.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    AZ Pool Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kingman, AZ
    Posts
    20
    Please let us know how you make out after you get your new meter installed. I had the same heater on my pool earlier this season and it had to be repaired under warranty. Same symptoms as yours.
    13,500 gls. i/g vinyl lined pool. 13 x 32x 5
    3Bs maint. "bleach, borax,baking soda", (unless on the lazy side, then throw some trichlor pucks into the rainbow feeder.)

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    237
    ktdave,

    the pressure and flow of your natural gas is dependent on a few things, and how those things add up will determine if you're reaching the the minimum requirement of your burner (heater.)

    some of the varialbles are 1) what regulator in front of meter happens to be set at; all regulators have output "ranges", and yours may be set "high enough" to get enough pressure (or may not, if you're having problems). Also regulators have small orifices and can clog easily... so keep this in mind if you begin to have problems.
    2) pipe size... the larger the pipe size, the more flow you will get, so if you're getting the full 250 cfh, that may be enough to operate your heater
    3)length of pipe run... the longer the run, the larger your pipe size needs to be

    remember, there are 2 factors... pressure AND flow. The mastertemp400 needs 400 cfh (flow) and somewhere between 4 and 11 inches of water column (pressure) (if I recall correctly from the manual.)

    If I were you, I'd go ahead and change the meter. I doubt your gas company will charge you anything, and you're risking starving your heater without it. The results might show up down the road.

    FWIW, I ran a large line, but I had a long run. 2" line for about 100', only used the regulator in front of the meter to drop it down. (your gas line probably comes in at about 2 psi, and needs to be dropped to ~1/3 psi) Probably not the least expensive option, but that's what I did. There are certainly other solutions.

    I'll be glad to help if needed. (this is pretty much what I do all day long, but usually in industrial applications)

    enjoy...
    18,000 gallon gunite free form, with spa, 4x160, EasyTouch, SWCG, Pentair cartr filter, Colorlogic lights.

  15. Back To Top    #15
    ktdave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    888
    Jay,
    sorry I'm hijacking here, but at least it's relevant.

    Steve,
    I did call the gas co. today to see 1) if I neede to do something and 2) if it would cost.
    answer - a tech will call me back

    As far as my gas run; less than 10 feet, and like I said I've had no probs. so far, but what about when my HVAC heat kicks in (more demand).

    Hopefully they'll switch it out without cost (or minimal)

    Thanks for the input Steve, and the air time Jay.
    11,000 gal. gunite w/midnight blue and white pearl PebbleTec
    Intelliflo 4x160 pump
    Intellichlor IC-20 SWG
    Pentair cartridge filter 420 sq. ft.
    Mastertemp 400K BTU heater
    Legend Platinum cleaner
    Pool School
    JasonLion's Pool Calculator
    TF Test Kits

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    237
    dave,

    I've never read where they've charged anyone... they're allowing you to use MORE gas...

    I would TELL the tech that you need 400 scfh of gas... not 250..... bring me a new meter.

    (and you're right, when you use it when you're running your central heat and/or hot water tank and/or stove... none of them may work properly)

    we replace regulators and orifices all day long bc people aren't able to get enough gas to their burners...(usually after they've cranked up the pressure all the way... and eventually realize that they need f-l-o-w)

    sorry for the rant...
    18,000 gallon gunite free form, with spa, 4x160, EasyTouch, SWCG, Pentair cartr filter, Colorlogic lights.

  17. Back To Top    #17
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887
    We got charged almost $500 to upgrade the meter. Policies are different in different parts of the country.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  18. Back To Top    #18
    wardsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spring, Texas
    Posts
    223
    No prob Dave...anything for you!

    I had pool school today and James and I determined that the surface ignitor easn't operating, so he is going to replace that part first before we go through the expense and effort to change the gas meter. I have 4 other people I have talked to that have not changed their meter and things work just fine with the smaller meter. I will however call t gas company to inquire.

    Dave let me know if you hear sometyhing from yours!
    Jay
    36' x19' Freeform, 16' waterfall w/ groto and slide, 5' x 10' sundeck, 12" raised spa. Pentair IntelliTouch, Pentair IntelliFlo 4 x 160, Master Temp 400, IntelliChlor Chlorine generator, Aqua Blue PebbleSheen

  19. Back To Top    #19
    ktdave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    888
    I'll let you know.
    11,000 gal. gunite w/midnight blue and white pearl PebbleTec
    Intelliflo 4x160 pump
    Intellichlor IC-20 SWG
    Pentair cartridge filter 420 sq. ft.
    Mastertemp 400K BTU heater
    Legend Platinum cleaner
    Pool School
    JasonLion's Pool Calculator
    TF Test Kits

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rocklin, Ca
    Posts
    467
    Wardsntx,

    It was mentioned briefly but I think it needs to be mentioned again.

    Don't forget to think about the entire possible gas demand of your home as multiple items could be drawing gas from the meter simultaneously. I don't know how big your home is what kind of appliances you have is but here's an example:

    Furnace ~ 90000
    Water ~ 30000
    Stove ~ 50000
    Oven(s) ~ ???
    Pool HTR ~ 400000
    Clothes Dryer ~ ???

    TOTAL ~ 517000+

    Think about a situation where you get a wild idea to have a party at Thanksgiving and want to be able to swim. You could be running many things at once and easily exceed the capability of your current meter.
    11000 Gals, Intelliflo, Sta-Rite Cartridge, Polaris 360

    Pool I built in my old house: my-new-pool-build-t4534.html

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •