Goldsboro, NC
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-15)
Hello all! I am new to pools...we just purchased our home and it has an inground pool that has been uncovered all winter and left unattended while on the market for at least 3-4 months. I doubt it has been looked after since Sept or Oct. Anyway the water is horribly green to say the least and I cannot see past 2 or 3 inches below the surface. I have visited my local pool store and had the water tested and I have put in Super Soluble, Banish, and Lo' n Slo as per my pool store. Here is my setup: I have an inground vinyl pool with a WhisperFlo 1HP pump, Pentair FNS Plus 60 D/E filter, Pentair Miniplus NT Heater (not turned on), Mineral Springs MS-10 system with cell (is not producing sanitizer due to low minerals...about 1800ppm). I have brushed yesturday and today. The pump has been running for 7 days tomorrow and I still cannot see the bottom and cannot tell a lot of difference. I have backwashed the filter twice and cleaned the hair and lint pot in the pump. Okay, so I am wondering if I need to open the filter and clean off the grids from within the filter (they have not been cleaned to my knowledge since Sept or Oct)? Also, what suggestions do you have for me to help get this green out? Below are the numbers from my last trip to the pool store (yesturday). If I left off any numbers or information please let me know and I will add. Thank you in advance for any help and God bless!!

Saturation Idx: -0.5
CYA: 30
Tot. Chl: 0.2
Free Chl: 0.2
pH: 7.6
Tot. Alk: 38
Adj. Tot. Alk: 29
Tot. Hardness: 214
Minerals: 1800-2000
Borates: 39

If your FC and Tc are truly .2-----------------there AIN'T none in there. See the chlorine/CYa chart in pool school and instructions for shocking and holding shock level. You also need to know the gallon capacity of your pool. You're gonna need a bunch of liquid bleach.