Pentair Intelliflo Worth Extra Money In Cincinnati, Ohio?

briansturgeon

LifeTime Supporter
Feb 22, 2011
Cincinnati, Ohio
I live near Cincinnati Ohio so our pool season is roughly only 3-3.5 months. We are getting ready to start on our 20x40 inground pool. Roughly 33K gallons. The builder wants to put in a 1hp pump. I have asked him about the newer variable speed pumps and he says it isn't worth the extra $800 or so dollars in our climate because of the short swim season.

My pump will be about level with the pool and roughly 20 ft away. He is using 1.5" flexible PVC Sch 40 for the lines. Sorry but I don't have all kinds of specs like head and stuff. I'm new to all of this. I just want to make sure I spend a little extra up front on the things that will make the pool more efficient to operate if there are some things. I figured a no-brainer was the pump from what I have read but now I'm not so sure. I even called Pentair and one of the techs said the builder is probably right because we will be winterizing the pool and such.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

A two speed pump will save you about 33% off your electric bill, while a variable speed can save you around 50%. A two speed is usually about $150 extra, while variable speed pumps start around $450 extra.

Getting a variable speed pump in your situation probably isn't worth it. If, as I imagine, your electric rate is around 8 to 15 cents per kwh, your best choice from a total cost point of view will be to get a two speed pump. Variable speed pumps are usually only worth it if you also have a spa or a water feature that runs off the same pump, or your electric rates are more like 20 cents per kwh or higher.

in addition to the money value in the terminology (word: worth), there are other terms that define value such as noise abatement, durability, flexibility over programming and more.