layin it all out there...first test

Sep 15, 2010
South Mississippi
Newbie here, been lurkin' and learnin' but still gonna need your invaluable input these next months:-New pool completed and filled end of Dec- IG Gunite 20,000 gallon with SWG-Here's my test with the TF-100 test kit
FC 5.5
CC 0
TC 5.5
PH 8.2
TA 150
CH 290
CYA 30
Salt 3800
with water temp a nice 61 degrees in sunny South Mississippi today
Been adding MA, seems like daily for the last several weeks....any suggestions. Just added my first stabilizer last week and the CYA is finally registering. Thanks for any input!

Welcome to TFP!

The simple answer is: you need to add more acid more frequently, as much and as often as it takes to keep the PH down below 8.0.

Even though your plaster is a month or two old, the winter weather has slowed the plaster curing, so it is still behaving as if it was freshly applied plaster. For what is normally the first three or four weeks, fresh plaster will raise the PH rapidly and raise the TA and CH levels a bit more slowly. To compensate for that you need to continue adding muriatic acid quickly enough to get the PH down below 8.0 and keep it there. During the first month you may need to add substantial amounts of muriatic acid every day, or in extreme cases more than once a day.

After the first "month", the increases in PH, TA, and CH will continue, but much more slowly, for up to a year.

I concur. Not that I'm a professional or anything.

Your pH is not 8.2!! It's at least 8.2, maybe higher. That's as high as the tester reads!

Add enough acid to get it down to 7.2 or so, run the pump and as many waterfalls, jets, spa bubbles as you can. Anything to aerate. That will drive down the TA and cause pH to raise again. Add more acid and keep repeating. If I pull all the stops, I can drive TA down 30 points in a few hours. Once TA is lower, the pH won't climb so fast.