Can the Ozonator go before the inline Chlornator?

Beep

Feb 13, 2011
Hello, I'm new to this pool stuff, and am just trying to figure out my setup, my question is that does the ozonator have to be before or after the inline chlorinator? my setup would be alot simpler if the ozonator could go before the chlorinator. I have attached a qick sketch of my proposed setup. I'm thinking of using a Rainbow 320C chlorinator with my Del Clear Ozone system, any sugestions?
Thanks, Beep.

Attachments

• Pool shed setup Model (1).jpg
    Pool shed setup Model (1).jpg
    237.5 KB · Views: 168
Yes it can if it is a SWG cell it may even be beneficial. For a rainbow unit I am not familiar enough with the materials used in these units to tell you if it is ok.

I would do it anyway. Rainbow parts are cheap enough. Think your money would be better spent buying only a SWG rather than the rainbow or the ozone (and I have both). After replacing my rainbow with a SWG, my rainbow went straight to the trash can.

Ozone injection is typically at the suction side pump plug where the impeller can mix it. When the pump is running, it generates a vacuum, drawing a little air in, air that is coming from the ozone generator. Some of that air now contains ozone, aka O3. Anything that can be oxidized and comes into contact with it is toast. The filter catches the oxidized waste.

Whether the chlorine feed is a tablet feeder, liquid feeder, or salt cell will make no difference. Any FC that does happenstance into an O3 is spent but the volume of FC vs O3 is many times greater. The lost FC amount is not a significant amount usually since the ozone that entered the system is mostly toast by the time it gets to the entryway for the chlorine and any residual O3 will decompose quickly.

Scott