Stone vs. SWG dilemma in Texas?

Jan 17, 2011
Austin, TX
Hi y'all!
I am new to the TFP forum so I hope I do this right! We are about to pull the trigger and build a pool here in Austin. I have been all through the website and forum on this issue and still don't have a clear idea of what to do. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. This website has already been so helpful to me in understanding all of the ins and outs of a pool!

Here's the deal...We have a Texas limestone house and an existing limestone patio. We are going to need about 350 square feet of new decking around the pool which will connect to our current limestone patio via a couple of new steps. We would really like to do a saltwater pool and we really want stone decking. I have been to several stone yards and met with about 5 different builders, all whom have differing opinions on what type of stone will go well with our limestone and work with a SWG. Everyone says limestone is out because it's so porous and soft. Our dilemma is what kind of stone to use for this decking? We want a light colored stone to match or come close to the limestone, cool under foot, and won't corrode because of the salt. I know the SWG corrosion issue is a huge topic on this forum.

We have seen a stone called Mexican Creme sandstone that is a good color, but we were told by someone else it will fall apart in the areas exposed to splashing. Does anyone have advice on what type of stone would work well with this scenario?

Thanks so much!

You could seal the stoen which will add longevity. You have to keep sealing it every few years there after. You could go with a Peacock Paver or Travertine which will get you the colors you seems to be looking for. Salt is corosive to Stone but with some care you can prolong the effects.