Enormous pool heating costs

Dec 14, 2010
I am brand new to TFP and hope you all can help us because the sales people sure did not. My husband and I just put in a 10' by 14' Endless Pool (vinyl pool-4400 gal) and spent $600.00 on heating for the first month. I have been looking on the site and it looks like I need to check into the solar panels. Any specific links of where to buy items or great products would be greatly appreciated. We simply cannot afford those costs and are so disappointed. We live in Southern CA and plan to swim year round to train for triathlon perhaps in our wetsuits. Thank you in advance for any advice!
:) Anne-Marie

Welcome to TFP!

Can you fill us in on some details? What kind of heater? Indoor or outdoor? Do you use a cover? Pool used daily?

Trying to heat an outdoor pool in even slightly cool temps is going to be cost prohibitive, as you've already found out. Solar will help but I'm not sure it's going to be the entire answer if you want to heat it year round. You might be looking at an enclosure as well. Someone with more experience in your climate will be along soon to comment.

JohnT said:
Welcome to TFP!

Can you fill us in on some details? What kind of heater? Indoor or outdoor? Do you use a cover? Pool used daily?

Yes, more detail. Specifics include:

1) type of fuel used for heater. Is it natural gas, propane, heat pump?
2) heater size is important for us to know (i.e. how many BTU's is it rated for)?
3) what temp do you like to heat to?
4) do/did you run the heater 24/7 or only during the day?
5) So you use a solor cover
6) Whats been the average air temps at night and durig the day?

Are you using a Solar Blanket on the pool when it is not in use? From the high bill, I assume you have a gas heater?