Do I have algae??

Jun 30, 2010
I have an Intex 20x48 Ultra Frame pool with a salt water system. I am very new to this and really don't know what to do...

After a couple of storms I've notices a discoloration to the bottom of the pool. It is patches and even some lines (about 6 inches wide). It doesn't feel any different, it is not slick. I have scrubbed it nothing changes. My pool is crystal clear. You only see this discoloration in the evenings when the sun is going down about 6 or 7 o'clock. During the day with full sun you don't see it at all. Is this algae? Is it possible to have algae or mold under the pool (like between the tarp and the bottom of the pool)? I have to admit I did add 8 oz. of Algaecide, it did not make any difference. I'm a little worried now about my son getting in the pool because of the Algaecide (I'm a worrier).

Also I am confused about my levels. I run this salt water system 8 hours a day (filter 12 hours) and my numbers are always low.

Free Chlorine usually 0
Total Chlorine usually 0
Alkalinity usually 40
pH 6.8 to 7.2
Total Hardness 50

As I said my pool is crystal clear, my son's skin and eyes are no way irritated like in a public pool (he wears goggles and the fill up with water and he doesn't even realize it). Are these numbers OK?

What are you using to test your water? Do you have a result for CYA/stabilizer? How much salt do you have in the pool? Does your SWG have the copper ions feature?

Please start off by reading recommended levels and Pool School.

It is very important that you keep the pool sanitized with chlorine. The FC (free chlorine) should never drop below the recommended level. Without knowing how much CYA is in your pool I cannot tell you how high your chlorine should be.

You must be able to accurately test your water to keep it sanitized. A high quality test kit such as the TF 100 or the Taylor K2006 will allow you to test the levels needed to maintain a safe, clean pool.