maintaining bromine levels

giulietta1

In The Industry
Mar 29, 2007
Knippa, Texas
I've gotten used to the BBB system for the pool and it's just a habit now to test daily and pour in the bleach as needed. I'm still learning the ins and outs of using bromine for the spa.

At first it was working fine to keep the dispenser in the spa all the time. Now my bromine levels shoot up when I leave it in. It just isn't systematic and measurable like pouring in the chlorine! Very frustrating!

Does anyone have any helpful experience to share? The spa is kept covered when not in use. Now I am trying leaving the dispenser in overnight and taking it out in the morning. It's on the lowest setting.

Thx,
Jules

How long has the water been in your spa? Both bromide and dimethylhydantoin will build up in the water over time, which is one of the reasons that spas are supposed to be drained and refilled every 3-4 months. Dimethylhydantion does make bromeine "stay" in the water in a similar way that CYA does for chlorine. If the spa is not getting much use then the bromine levels will increase, expecially if you keep it covered. You might try uncovering it for a short time each day and see if that helps. Or you could try a two step bromine system (sodium bromide on startup, NO bromne tabs, and just add bleach to oxidize the sodium bromide and maintain your bromine level as needed (probably daily) and shock weekly. It will require more testing and maintenance than the three step and, IMHO, if you are going that route bromine offers no advatages over chlorine and you might as well just convert to a chlorine spa.

The water has been in the spa just under one month. It has been used almost daily during that time. I keep it covered when not in use, except for a couple of times when I uncovered it to let the sun burn off some excess bromine.