Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pond Liner for a Pool?

1. Back To Top    #1

Pond Liner for a Pool?

Ok, the subject on this thread might not be completely accurate. But... I was kicking around the idea of building my own pool in our next house. But, I would like it to be more natural in look rather that a basic shape, a more tropical look with waterfalls, etc. (I have built ponds for a living in the past so have a lot of experience in that way).

My first question is the liner. With ponds we use EPDM liners but I don't think this would be appropriate for a pool as most EPDM liners are black (not very inviting for a pool color) and I don't know how EPDM would hold up to chlorine levels and other chemicals.

Is it possible to buy vinyl pool liner material by the foot (seaming it if necessary) just as you would a pond liner? If so, are folds (like what would be in a pond liner) ok considering bacterial growth, etc.

I just seems to me that a really cool looking pool could be built based on pond design.

I'd like to get feedback from those that have any knowledge in this.
    8000 gallon, AG, Sand filter 22", 2spd pump (2hp)
    SolarPRO XD1 Solar Heater, Hayward aqua bug vac.

2. Back To Top    #2
    I cannot answer your other questions, but folds would be REALLY bad. They would harbor debris, as well as algae. You would not be able to properly sanitize your pool. Not to mention that most of us just think wrinkles in the liner lust look bad.
    There are many freeform fiberglass and vinyl pool options that could give you a more organic look and a wrinkle-free liner... Then you could add your waterfalls and landscaping...

Welcome to TFP! (my daughter will just DIE when she see we have a Jack Sparrow!!)

8000 gallon 20' x 48" round vinyl frame pool, 12" sand filter (don't have the specs on the pump), TF100 test kit
    Handy Links: PoolMath, TF-100 Test Kit, Pool School, CYA-Chlorine Chart
    "Shock" is a process, not a product!