CYA GONE....Hey ChemGeek!!!!

May 1, 2007
Choconut,PA
OK, Here's the deal.. pool has been great all summer, no major adjustment accept for one ph up ( was low after heavy rain)and one bag of salt. TC has been good holding 3.5-4.5 ppm with swg at 50%, filter running from 9-6 and the 2-330(am) every day. The last two weeks I had to bump up the swg..we seeemed to be using a lot more cl. I chalked it up to the extra heat and pool water being ~88deg or better daily. Also if I'm not in the pool the solar cover is on....always. Long story short we've had a very humid and rainy week. Today I rolled up the cover and about died! WhEW!!!! Pool stunk like dead fish and was a little cloudy with a very slight green tint...AHHHHHH :eek: . CL was at 0, ph 7.2 ak 120, salt 2850 and here's the kicker..my cya was 0. I'm new to IG with the swg, am I supposed to be checking/adding cya on a regular basis. It never dissapered like that in my old AG and I used to use unstablized tri-chlor pucks. Either way I've been at it all day, added 4.5 gal of 6% to get back on the chart, then added two bags of sodium shock ( using up left over stock from ag :wink: ), srubbed the walls, let it set for a bit then vacumed, then threw in my extra ctg while I cleaned the other one...and amidst all this using the stocking method to add cya. It allready looks and smells :? much better! So where did my cya go! I have read about it being gone over winter closing but to just dissaper in the middle of the season is wierd. I haven't added a whole lot of water either....twice I was about 1" lower than norm and threw in the hose, mother nature has done the rest for me this year. If I had to guess I would say we've used maybe a foot of water this year...out of almost 21k I really don't think that's alot...maybe I wrong. Anyway I'm getting back to normal and I'll post numbers tomorrow....in the meanwhile all comments welcome and thanks in advace for any adivce.