How to install pump

May 25, 2010
I recently purchased a Hayward Power Flo, to replace my Power Pak1. Can anyone help with how to do this. The power pak is just connected with hoses. The new pump doesn't have anywhere to connect the hoses to. I have read the instruction book and it says something about using PVC can anyone please help and let me know what exactly I need to do!

Thank You!

I'm a relative newb at this myself, but if you post some pix of your old setup and ypur new pump I would be willing to help.

You may have to take the fittings off the old pump and put them on the new pump.

pictures of the pump will help a lot. Is it a Matrix, LX, or ???? which model? Anyway, usually you will need a threaded male PVC end to fit on the pump intake - probably 1 1/2" but it's entirely possible that there could be some out there with 2"? - the output to the filter may be the same one that goes to your current filter so nothing new may be needed there - usually that is fairly standard and may have a small O ring or gasket that goes with it.

Here are the pictures of the 2 pumps. The old pump had male ends that the hose from the skimmer & hose going to the filter slid over.
The new pump has female threaded connectors, so I can't connect the hoses

Attachments

• oldpump.jpg
    oldpump.jpg
    304.1 KB · Views: 207
  • newpump.jpg
    newpump.jpg
    208.4 KB · Views: 205
Ok...I'm officially out of the "helping" phase as I have no clue after seeing that second picture. I have the same pump as you new one though (love it!). Its a Powerflo Matrix for future reference. Sorry I couldnt be more helpful.