High phosphate levels

Alrod

Aug 7, 2007
My pool maintenance man said I have high levels of phosphates causing algae to form rapidly. What could be causing this? Inground pool, screened in in SE FL. Neighbors do not have this problem.

Neighbors do not have this problem
Yeah, and most likely, neither do you.

You should get a reliable set of test numbers and post them here. I suspect strongly that your problem is more likely related to sanitizer - stabilizer/chlorine levels or pH.
Also, what is your chlorine source?

The pool stores have been really pushing phosphates as a problem recently even though phosphates are (almost?) never the problem.

Get a full set of tests. I suspect your CYA level is too high, or some other problem that testing will reveal.

Thank you for your reply. I am told that all other readings are perfect, however a greenish/yellow pool was present. Algae feeds off of phosphates?? so that is the reason for the algae development!?!? I am a complete novice when it comes to pools, thus a pool maintenance service. This is the second service I have had over the last 9 months. I will look into this further should it turn again.
Alrod

Yes, algae feeds off of phosphates. However, if you maintain safe chlorine levels the algae won't get started in the first place, regardless of the phosphate level. Since you need to do the chlorine anyway, to protect against viruses and bacteria, there isn't much point in stopping the algae in other ways.

Hi,

Did the service guy test for phosphates?

Because you just cant tell from a normal
pool test. If they didnt test exactly for
phosphates...they are only guessing.

Get a phosphate test kit! lochlor give them
away for free. Otherwise get someone else
to test for the phosphates and see the numbers
for yourself!

I suspect other causes for your algae problems.
But just because your neighbor doesnt have a
problem does not mean that you wont.

Phosphates can enter your pool from water