Thread: I need a little help

1. Back To Top    #1

I need a little help

FC 0
    CC .5
    ALK 125
    PH 7.0
    CYA under 20

My pool was perfect until the rain came and working to many hours. I am working on my PH now. I have never used Dichlor before and read that it will also raise my CYA so I thought I would give it a shot. The charts are calling for 94 oz. My Question is as follows: Do I just add the 94 oz and let it go and retest in the morning or do I continue to shock with the Dichlor? Do I add the Dichlor then continue to shock with bleach? Also, I am aerating the pool now hoping for the ALK to drop some as I do have a fiberglass pool. Any help would be appreciated!!
    19600 gallons.. Viking fiberglass pool... 1.5 horsepower Hayward sand filter... Aqua bot turbo....Heat pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: I need a little help

94 oz is alot of Dichlor to add, esp all at once. Which "charts" are you referring to? Are you using the Pool Calculator? What target did you enter to calculate your shock? Have you already purchased the Dichlor?
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

3. Back To Top    #3

Remember that dichlor will raise FC, raise CYA, and lower PH. Adding 94 oz to 19,600 gallons will raise FC by 20, raise CYA by 18, and lower PH by somewhere around 0.6. That would raise your FC too high, raise CYA not enough, and lower your PH by way way too much.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4

In the Industry

Jamier,

I would discourage you from using dichlor.

1. Leave pH and TA alone for now....they're ok