Collecting water samples when pump is not running

May 28, 2010
I've read that water sample collections should be taken when pump has been running for at least 1.5 hours. Unfortunately, I frequently leave home before my pool pump starts up and return after it turns off. The last thing I want to do is turn the pool pump on just to wait an hour and a half to take a sample - that would seem ridiculous.

So I realize the 1.5 hour 'rule' is a perfect world scenario and that doesn't mean I won't test my water just b/c the pump hasn't been running. Is there anyone else that shares my situation and how/when do you go about sampling your water?

Sampling "unmixed" water will probably give you "mixed" results.

Find another time to test, test with only 30 minutes of run time, etc., but testing water that may not be evenly distributed in your pool is never a good idea.

I've been collecting and testing "unmixed" water for 5 years and have never found an appreciable difference in test results at those times when I made it a point to run a control sample.

In fact, I test around 7 PM; my pump runs at night and shuts off at 4 AM. Moreover, I take the sample from the spot in the pool which has the least amount of circulation, opposite the return and to the side of the steps from about an arm's length down below the surface. If anything is off with the water balance that's the place where it would show up.

The importance of testing is consistency. Same time, same place, same procedure and keep a record. You'll know when something is off.

There are a couple of things I do in my pool that are not standard practice. I do not advocate them on the forum because they are simply not the best, most consistent way of doing things.....I am personally comfortable with the results, though.

Each pool owner discovers what works best for them and what methods they choose to use.

That said, sampling unmixed water isn't as dependable and reliable as mixing your pool water thoroughly.