Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Autopilot Digital Options

  1. Back To Top    #1
    donaldm823's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    146

    Autopilot Digital Options

    PoolSean has several posts regarding all of the various options of the Autopilot digital. One of them weas the capability to change the 50% run time amperage based on your generator run time and need for chlorine generation levels. Understand the Autopilot runs when the pump runs (e.g. autopilot wired to the pump timer), but can you program the autopilot itself to run x hrs and then turn itself off even though the pump is still running
    Don SW Florida
    10,000 gal in ground concrete pool
    Pentair Cartridge filter, Pentair SWG, Pentair Intelliflow VS pump (11018)
    FAFCO solar panels w/Pentair SolarTouch controller
    using BBB for pool chemistry/Lamotte ColorQ tester for daily testing

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455
    Yes, as long as you're not using the Digital to control your circulation pump. As long as you're using a separate time clock or control system (like Jandy, Pentaire, Aqualogic, etc), by programming the Pool Pilot for ONE SPEED PUMP (remember, we're not connecting the pump to it), what it does in essence is tell the Pool Pilot when to activate the chlorine generation.

    Not sure why you would want to do this unless you're greatly oversized on the cell to pool. You can reduce the Cell Power level too, to generate lower levels of chlorine. In my opinion, you're better off generating lower doses for a longer period of time than you are to generate alot of chlorine in a shorter period of time.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  3. Back To Top    #3
    donaldm823's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    146
    Quote Originally Posted by Poolsean
    Yes, as long as you're not using the Digital to control your circulation pump. As long as you're using a separate time clock or control system (like Jandy, Pentaire, Aqualogic, etc), by programming the Pool Pilot for ONE SPEED PUMP (remember, we're not connecting the pump to it), what it does in essence is tell the Pool Pilot when to activate the chlorine generation.

    Not sure why you would want to do this unless you're greatly oversized on the cell to pool. You can reduce the Cell Power level too, to generate lower levels of chlorine. In my opinion, you're better off generating lower doses for a longer period of time than you are to generate alot of chlorine in a shorter period of time.
    thanks for the info-you are one of the reasons I am going with an Autopilot.

    Now all I have to do is convince my pool builder (Anthony and Sylvan) that does my service (pool components still have another 2 years of warranty) to install an Autopilot. He wants to install a Aquapure-Jandy that in my view is not up to the standards of an Autopilot Digital in both quality, options, and chlorine output. As for the question-just covering my options since I am going oversized with the SC-60 and I have a 30000 gal pool
    Don SW Florida
    10,000 gal in ground concrete pool
    Pentair Cartridge filter, Pentair SWG, Pentair Intelliflow VS pump (11018)
    FAFCO solar panels w/Pentair SolarTouch controller
    using BBB for pool chemistry/Lamotte ColorQ tester for daily testing

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455
    Gotcha. Have you tried contacting Delaware Valley Pools yet?
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  5. Back To Top    #5
    donaldm823's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    146
    Quote Originally Posted by Poolsean
    Gotcha. Have you tried contacting Delaware Valley Pools yet?
    yes-I talked to Pete at Del Valley and that was the price he quoted $1950 (with salt) for the Autopilot Digital, manifold, and SC-60 cell. Seems high since I can buy it on line for $1100. So a set back since $1950 is way more than I budgeted
    Don SW Florida
    10,000 gal in ground concrete pool
    Pentair Cartridge filter, Pentair SWG, Pentair Intelliflow VS pump (11018)
    FAFCO solar panels w/Pentair SolarTouch controller
    using BBB for pool chemistry/Lamotte ColorQ tester for daily testing

  6. Back To Top    #6
    donaldm823's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    146

    Autopilot Dimensions

    Quote Originally Posted by Poolsean
    Yes, as long as you're not using the Digital to control your circulation pump. As long as you're using a separate time clock or control system (like Jandy, Pentaire, Aqualogic, etc), by programming the Pool Pilot for ONE SPEED PUMP (remember, we're not connecting the pump to it), what it does in essence is tell the Pool Pilot when to activate the chlorine generation.

    Not sure why you would want to do this unless you're greatly oversized on the cell to pool. You can reduce the Cell Power level too, to generate lower levels of chlorine. In my opinion, you're better off generating lower doses for a longer period of time than you are to generate alot of chlorine in a shorter period of time.
    PoolSean
    I have searched this forum but can not seem to find the various dimensions of the control box and the generator manifold. Could you please re-poste them-need the exterior dimensions of the control box so I can size the post for the box, and also need the manifold cutout so I can estimate my plumbing costs. I think the box was 21x12x9- but I really need the screw hole dimensions so I can check my current post width as I do not want to replace the post since it already contains my timer and circuit bkr box on one side. Also I think the manifold was 10inches something cutout
    Don SW Florida
    10,000 gal in ground concrete pool
    Pentair Cartridge filter, Pentair SWG, Pentair Intelliflow VS pump (11018)
    FAFCO solar panels w/Pentair SolarTouch controller
    using BBB for pool chemistry/Lamotte ColorQ tester for daily testing

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455
    Donald,

    Hopefully someone can reply with the actual dimensions of the mounting screw holes and the manifold, as I am out of the contry with limited access, and no power supply, tape measure, or manifold with me.

    The measurements for the power supply is close, but it doesn't show what you need for the mounting screw holes. The manifold depends on if your existing plumbing is 1.5" or 2". 1.5" pvc will need more space for the reducing bushings, as the manifold is 2". Otherwise, the manifold needs approximately 11.75" of straight pipe to mount in your plumbing.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •