Chlorine Usage

Oct 7, 2009
SW IN
I just had a new liner installed. I am trying the BBB method. I am not sure if I am using an excessive amount of chlorine on a daily basis. I am adding 2 to 3 qts of 10% each evening. I have listed test results below. The pool is a 25000 gal Foxx pool.
FC=3.5
CC=0
Alkilinity=110
PH=7.5
CYA=40
I have tested the water each evening after the sun is off the pool. The TC is always .5. I use the pool calculator and add the recommended amount of 10%. I check the water the next morning and always get a reading between 3 and 4 TC. Same results that evening. The pool is in total sun all day. I just want to be sure I am on track. It seems like a lot of usage, but I am a newbie. Thanks for any advice.

Sounds about right to me. The only comment I have is that with CYA of 40, you do not want to let your FC fall below 3ppm and target 5-6ppm when your adding chlorine so that by the time your ready to add chlorine the next day your FC is around 3ppm.

gotgone said:
I have tested the water each evening after the sun is off the pool. The TC is always .5. I use the pool calculator and add the recommended amount of 10%. I check the water the next morning and always get a reading between 3 and 4 TC. Same results that evening.

So try this, test in the evening, add your nitely dose, say around 7-8pm. At 9 or 10 pm, before you go to bed, take another FC sample. Then use that later sample to compare your morning results to, so we can get an accurate overnight Loss result.

If you are losing more than 1ppm you should shock.

Your loss of 3 or so during the day doesn't seem excessive esp considering full sun, no cover, right? But I suggest you try a higher target, say 7 to keep you above your min of 3.