Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Chlorine Usage

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine Usage

I just had a new liner installed. I am trying the BBB method. I am not sure if I am using an excessive amount of chlorine on a daily basis. I am adding 2 to 3 qts of 10% each evening. I have listed test results below. The pool is a 25000 gal Foxx pool.
    FC=3.5
    CC=0
    Alkilinity=110
    PH=7.5
    CYA=40
    I have tested the water each evening after the sun is off the pool. The TC is always .5. I use the pool calculator and add the recommended amount of 10%. I check the water the next morning and always get a reading between 3 and 4 TC. Same results that evening. The pool is in total sun all day. I just want to be sure I am on track. It seems like a lot of usage, but I am a newbie. Thanks for any advice.
    25k-30k gallon IG plaster/shotcrete
    Pentair 1 HP Hydropump
    C-9419 catridge filter
    Kreepy Krauly attack monster
    And ooooo, a diving board - WHO WANTS TO TOUCH ME? :)

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Chlorine Usage

Sounds about right to me. The only comment I have is that with CYA of 40, you do not want to let your FC fall below 3ppm and target 5-6ppm when your adding chlorine so that by the time your ready to add chlorine the next day your FC is around 3ppm.
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for the advice. I wondered if I should get the level higher to start. I will add another dose right away.
    Pentair 1 HP Hydropump
    C-9419 catridge filter

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by gotgone
    I have tested the water each evening after the sun is off the pool. The TC is always .5. I use the pool calculator and add the recommended amount of 10%. I check the water the next morning and always get a reading between 3 and 4 TC. Same results that evening.