loud pump noise...save this grandma from a heart attack!

May 23, 2010
I am new to pool ownership, new to forums in general and this one in particular. I'm at a loss...and a crossroad between crying hystically and running as far away from this pool as I can get. It is the "pool from heck" one thing leads to another and now my pump just started making a LOUD noise...not a clanking, but motor noise. Heres the senerio. Opened pool way too early and got full of whilly's, leaves, etc. Sta Rite filter PXC150 on a 28' round ag pool with a 1.5 hp waterford pump. My son came over and installed a 2x20 solar panel that I got for free. I knew I'd need to add a 4X20 to it. So, everything is going along okay. I took the 3 yr old cart. out and cleaned it up pretty good. Running at 10 psi before and after cleaning.
I figured i may as well get a new cart. and start off right. I did not turn the pump on for a few days waiting for new filter.
Lots of "gunk" running thru it and I didn't want the old filter to not do the job and put to much strain on my pump. Yesterday, I turned it on because the water was getting green. Started making a horrible loud noise. Ran right down to pool store to get new cart. When i put in new cart. still making a loud noise. I ck'd the cart. again and made sure it was seated down into the filter good. When I did so, it moved down and "seated" into the bottom. I then knew that that did not happen when I reinserted the old cart after cleaning! my son ck'd all the ports, valve's etc. Pump was working, had great return. So why the noise???? I can't even tell you how much this "inexpensive, used pool" has cost to date. It has become the "money pit" and everytime I think I've gotten to the end, its something else. Please someone help me! My next search is for "dynamite". I've got my 82 yr old parents arriving this weekend and they are expecting to see this pool up and running and the great grandchildren enjoying it!!!

Welcome to TFP :wave: