New to BBB method. Having some trouble..

liljenjennc

LifeTime Supporter
May 19, 2010
Shelby, NC
I am new to the BBB method this year. I found this website over the winter and have followed this method since opening the pool during April. Up until now things have been great. I purchased the recommended test kit, also. Then, this week there has been a lot of rain. Now the water is getting cloudy, and the pool won't hold it's chlorine. This is a list of current levels:

TC - 1
CC - .5
FC - .5
TA - 110
CH - 120
CYA - 25
PH - between 7.5 and 7.8

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

It appears that you need to shock. You can do an overnight chlorine drop test to confirm but I think I'd just go ahead and shock it for a couple of days then do the overnight test to make sure. Also, in NC Your CYA probably isn't quite high enough. I'd bump it to between 30 & 40 AFTER you're done shocking. Low CYA will allow the sun to burn off a good bit of your FC each day. I have mine at 50ppm and still lose about 2ppm FC per day.

Just a follow up to make sure that I'm on the right track. I took the advice of shocking the pool. I added the amount of bleach indicated by the chart at 9:30 this a.m. I just went back out to check(11:45) and did a drop test just to see where I stand:

TC:6
FC: 6
CC:0

Does that sound right? Also, just to clarify- am I supposed to keep the Chlorine at shock level for days? Thanks.

Yes you need to keep the pool at shock level until.
  • You lose 1ppm or less of FC overnight[/*:m:291hjyn2]
  • You have .5CC or less[/*:m:291hjyn2]
  • And if you don't have a FAS-DPD kit, your water is clear[/*:m:291hjyn2]

Here's the article in Pool School about how to shock your pool. Shocking Your Pool

Ok. I shocked all day yesterday - checked level/added every hour. FC dropped 1 overnight. New levels:
(as of 8:30)
FC: 9
CC: .5

I added the recommended amount to get back up to shock level (10). Did a retest of chloring.
10:30:

FC:11
CC: 0