Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Getting ready to clean my swamp.

1. Back To Top    #1

Getting ready to clean my swamp.

Hey everyone,

New here to the forum and also to pools. Just got done reading Jason "Turning your green swamp" thread. It looks to be a great starting point for me. Anyways, as I said I'm new to the pool thing. My wife and I just bought a 5 year old foreclosure with a 3 year old in-ground pool. The house has been vacant for 2 years now and the pool has been covered the whole time. I peeled part of the cover back yesterday to see what the water looks like and it's nasty. I can only see about 3-4 inches down. I did notice that it looks to be a tiled pool which I'm not sure if that's a good thing or not. I have a friend coming over today to see if he can get the pump going (he has some experience). After that I'm gonna go get one of the test kits from Jason's article and start the process. FUN FUN FUN!!!! lol.

Well wish me luck and I look forward to learning from everyone here.
    Hayward sand filter & super pump, Pool is weird shape but rough figures are 23x10x4.5 for a volume of 7800 gallons. Fiberglass shell

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Getting ready to clean my swamp.

Good luck! After lots of hard work it will be worth it.
    Plano, TX
    25,000 Gallons, Plaster, DE Filter, No SWG

3. Back To Top    #3

Good luck - we're here to help
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome to the forum

Be sure to take plenty of pics cuz we know you will want to share them with us
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.