Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie Question

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie Question

I am so glad to have found this forum. I just put in a pool last summer and with your help, I cleared my cloudy pool caused by my Pool School Guy!! I really love this forum. And please know that I am VERY new to pool chemistry knowledge!!!

First (see I read the rules) here are my numbers:

Free Chlorine 2.6 ppm
    Combined chlorine .2 ppm
    PH 7.6
    CH 200 ppm
    Alkalinity 110 ppm
    CYA 40 ppm (I think.....hard to see when the dot disappears!)

My SWG is set on 70% though and I would like to lower it.

Should I turn my SWG down to say 60% right after I add Stabilizer or wait a day? I don't want my chlorine to go up much more, but I would think that by adding stabilizer it might.

Thanks guys,
    Madeline
    10,620 gallons/IG/plaster
    SWG
    Cartridge Filter
    Ozonator (only because PB wanted my business!)
    Pump 1.5 HP (2-speed)

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie Question

Hi Madeline

You do want your CYA between 70 or 80 and I have found that 80 is better for my pool. You also want your FC a little higher. I would leave the SWG where it is at now unitl you can get to a level of 4 FC and the CYA is where you want it and then tweet it back.

Ken
    18X38 Grecian 26000 gallon In Ground Vinyl. Goldline AuqaRite SWG with a 1.5 HP Pentair Pump. Triton 2 Sand Filter Two main drains with 4 main returns with 2 more returns on the swimout and two skimmers. Polaris 380

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks Ken! I was going by a test I had done at Ace Hardware and they said the FC should be between 1-3, but pool school says 3-5. I'll have to change it on my tests!

And I guess it's okay to leave the SWG at 70%. I thought that was a little high.
    SWG
    Cartridge Filter
    Pump 1.5 HP (2-speed)

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome Madeline. I have always loved that name!