Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Can you use solar panels from different companies to add on?

1. Back To Top    #1

Can you use solar panels from different companies to add on?

Hi Everyone!

Newbie here! Last year we installed a 27' round pool with a single 4x20 Fafco Solar Panel. Not sure what
    model it is because the pool guy brought it and took the box. We want to order another since this was not
    enough and I'm trying to find out if I can connect another Fafco 4x20 panel as long as I get a connector kit?

In other words, do they all have to be the same model to connect.

I don't want to order the wrong thing because most online places won't let me return it.

Thanks so much! Any help is really appreciated!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Can you use solar panels from different companies to add on?

There really isn't a significant difference between models in each manufacturer or even from one manufacturer to another unless you go with a completely different type of panel. Back some years ago before re-doing our system, we had panels from two different manufacturers connected (2 of the 2x20 and a 4x20) - no problems.
    18x33x52 Buttressfree Seaspray (Wilbar) AGP - 1.5hp Pentair Maxim w/22" Pentair Meteor Sand Filter, Aqua Rite SWG System, Biltmore Walk In Steps - 2/4x20 Solar Panel Setup - Doheny Jet Drive (RIP -Pool Rover Jr) - finally hard plumbed the whole darned thing -
    Beats Driving to the Lake!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thank you so much! I think I will just order one from Fafco. But since I don't know what model it is I wanted to make sure it would work first.

Anyone recommend a place to purchase?

Thanks so much!

4. Back To Top    #4

Just check to make sure the header size is the same. 1.5" vs 2". Although even if not, you can adapt. Its just easier if they are the same. I think most are 1.5", but I've heard of some being 2".
    25' x 13' Roman, 12000 gal IGP, Plaster, with 500 gal Spa