Skimmer not effective

dombey

Apr 25, 2010
Oregon
Hi Guys,

I'm sure there is no substitute for manually skimming your pool, but my skimmer straight up doesn't do anything.

It's at the west end of the pool and the wind seems to blow everything to the east side. Observing the skimmer, i rarely see any debris enter it, and the basket confirms there is essentially nothing getting picked up.

One other thing is that i am a newbie and i haven't adjusted my return jets since buying the house. They seem to be set up in a generally circular pattern, but pointing up towards the surface, which I've never seen before. Can these be adjusted to better push stuff into the skimmer?

You want to aim the returns so there is a strong circular movement to the water in the pool. Strong winds can interfere, but a good current in the pool can carry debris around to the skimmer against "normal" winds.

Assuming youve tweaked your returns sufficiently and you have good flow, fresh filter etc everything working correctly .... and still have a problem......

Welcome to the club. Skimmers are often located based on ease of plumbing Vs prevailing winds theory and just aren't that efective in many instances. If you are in an area with heavy debris inflow to the pool you may want to bolster your skimming cleaning power with aftermarket devices that are suction, or return powered.

There are a number of devices in the cleaner section that may be of use to you.
Pool devil, Pool skim, and Dragonfly are the ones I've tested.

Let us know if we can help.

Uncle Dave

Our return eye is turned a bit up and more to the direction of the skimmer. We experimented with turning it in other directions but it seemed to work so much better when turned that way - it just keeps the circulation going around towards the skimmer better

tsunami said:
Does the skimming action get any better when turning the valve more towards the skimmer side?