Removing cracked/chipped waterline tile from fiberglass

Apr 8, 2010
Hi All,
I'm a newbie to the world of pools, so I hope that I am able to provide enough information for someone to help us out.

We have a San Juan fiberglass pool in our newly purchased house which has waterline tile that is cracked, chipped, basically coming off in very sharp pieces. The installation of the tile seems rock solid. No cracks in the grout, tiles are not loose at all. The tile is cracked/chipped. Eventually some small pieces hang off of the side of the pool because they are still adhered to the pool by the grout. A friend's son pushed off of the wall and got such a deep cut on his foot that it required stitches.

We've asked the original pool installers about it and basically they have been no help. Supposedly the tile came from a store which is out of business.

Ignoring all the unpleasantness about spending so much money on pool repair, we've decided that we definitely need to remove the tile for safety reasons. How does one go about removing this from a fiberglass pool without damaging the coating? I don't want to take a contractors word that he/she knows what they are doing. I THINK that it is a silicone type grout. I am assuming because I've used silicone caulk in other projects and the texture seems similar. I've seen some posts about using epoxy for fiberglass pool applications, but I have no idea what a epoxy thinset, grout would look or feel like.

Additionally, would you recommend that we install new waterline tile? We did like the look of it, but are afraid that we will pick tile that won't last. No idea what the issue was with the old tile, but I certainly don't want the new one to crack. We live in NJ.

If anyone has information that they'd like to share, it'd be greatly appreciated.

Hey,