Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New pool. I have filter questions

1. Back To Top    #1

New pool. I have filter questions

Ok, looking over a few post, did I read right when some of you had your cartridge filters for a few years?

I have a Pentair 125sqft pump and a Hayword Filter.

The pool builders recommended cleaning the filter every month or when the PSI hits 10(?) on the meter. This would give me 12-14 months on a filter if I clean it with water well.

A local store (Pinch A Penny) recommends cleaning the filter weekly and at the same time frame for a new filter.

Now I swore I read guys here with filters lasting years and cleaning with dish washing soap or some chemicals?

Really, just soap and rise well will keep it super clean?

I am a newbie so I am scanning these forums and learning as much as I can.
    8,000 Gal, 11 x 26.8ft Shotcrete Pool with "Cool Blue" Diamond Brite by ESSIG Pools with Artistic Pavers Deck
    Goldine AQL-PLUS w/Aqua Pod, Aqua-Rite T-CELL-15 SWG, Pentair WhisperFlo High Performance 1.5HP, 2 speed pump, Pentair IntelliBrite,
    Pentair 100sqft Cartridge Filter, 6 Pool returns, Skimmer and 2 Anti-Vortex Main Drains
    Pool's completed build 2/2010

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New pool. I have filter questions

When you're new to an Internet forum I understand it's hard to figure out who knows their stuff and who doesn't

this thread: how-to-clean-a-cartridge-filter-t4465.html is very good
    Geometric 16X36', 16K gal, shotcrete, exposed aggregate plaster, acrylic coated concrete deck/cantilever coping;
    Pentair equipment suite (EasyTouch w/wireless, 2 Intellibrites, Intelliflo VS-3050, C&C 200 Filter, IC-40 SWG);
    Heliocol solar panels, Rocky's Roller, Blue Diamond robot

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by lbridges
    When you're new to an Internet forum I understand it's hard to figure out who knows their stuff and who doesn't