Help with filter

Mar 21, 2010
Phoenix, AZ
As you can tell by my username, I am a total pool newbie. So new, in fact, that I don't even know how many gallons are in my pool or how to even figure that out.

I inherited my parent's house which came with a pool, and I have NO IDEA what to do with it. The filter doesn't seem to be working, it runs, but the water is not really flowing. I think I need to clean/backwash it, but I'm afraid to do anything. I've done some googling, but can't find any directions. There are directions on the filter, but it references a "valve" and I have no idea which valve they are referencing.

I am posting a pic with two valves circled, one in red, the other green.

pool_filter.jpg

The green is a "Jandy" valve

jandy.jpg

I don't know what the red one is.

other.jpg

I feel like a pool moron, please help! I don't want to do anything stupid and blow up my filter or something.

Welcome to the forum.

The backwash valve is in red. The green valve is probably for a cleaner line.

Here is the manual for the FNS filter: http://www.pentairpool.com/pdfs/FNSOM.pdf

To backwash, shut off the pump, pull the backwash handle upwards until it stops. Unwind that blue flexible hose to somewhere you won't mind a lot of water and some DE. Turn on pump and wait till the water runs clean then shut off the pump. Return the backwash valve to the normal position. You will then need to recharge the DE filter per instructions in the manual.

mas985 said:
Welcome to the forum.

The backwash valve is in red. The green valve is probably for a cleaner line.

Here is the manual for the FNS filter: http://www.pentairpool.com/pdfs/FNSOM.pdf