Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Algae and rain in central texas

1. Back To Top    #1

Algae and rain in central texas

so its rained 32 of the last 35 days here in Austin. Pool was relatively clean until last week when we had some pretty torrential rain 4 days in a row. Now the pool is pretty green with algae. I shocked it yesterday just to bring up the chlorine level. Its supposed to rain all through this week and next. Should I try and clean it now or just wait til it stops raining. Should I keep scrubbing it every day to keep algae away and keep the chlorine level high? I just moved into this house about 2 months ago and I am new to pool ownership...
    Tampa, Florida

17,000 gallon IG pool, DE FIlter, pebble finish, 1 1/2 hp, 8 4x10 solar panels, screen cage, combined ozone/SWG.

2. Back To Top    #2
    IMO I would try to stay on top of the problem as best you can. The longer it goes, the harder it will be to bring back. I sympathize with all of the rain your area has received. Good Luck and keep us posted.
    MIKE

21K Inground Custom w/ Spa (Gunite/Plaster), SWCG, Hayward Northstar, Polaris 280, Hayward Color Logics, Jandy PS-8

3. Back To Top    #3

You have to stay on top of it. Otherwise you will end up with a swamp that will take more time and work to clean up.
    Poor Man's Pool
    Doughboy 18 ft round above ground
    7600 gal with center drain
    Pentair sand filter, 1 HP pump
    50 ppm borates
    "I know just enough to be dangerous"
    Pool Calc Ver 1.41 (Excel)

4. Back To Top    #4

define " stay on top of it"...Like I said, I am new to pool ownership...

scrub everyday and keep all levels good as much as I can?
    Tampa, Florida

17,000 gallon IG pool, DE FIlter, pebble finish, 1 1/2 hp, 8 4x10 solar panels, screen cage, combined ozone/SWG.

5. Back To Top    #5