Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Where to do CYA test

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    78

    Where to do CYA test

    Just curious WHERE people on this site perform the CYA test? Reason I ask is I can see different results if I do the test on my light travertine decking versus doing in the grass. Yes I do at high noon with my back to the sun, etc. I follow all the guidelines specified here.

    I find the CYA test pretty bogus anyway. I知 confident we could get 5 people to test the water and get five different answers. I just fill to 90 and if I can see dot I知 happy. Then I fill to 50 and if I can稚 see dot I知 happy because I知 between 60-80 and just keep FC at 6. (For SWG anyway)
    13,500 gallons (pool/spa),Wet Edge Primera Stone plaster (Sapphire Treasure), Pentair IC40,VSF,Cart Filter,EZTouch 8 with SL,Mastertemp,Legend cleaner,whisoerflow,Booster pump,Glacier Chiller,built April 2018

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    17,801

    Re: Where to do CYA test

    I perform my CYA out back on my flagstone path. But that's not because I expect the ground below me to influence the visibility within the viewing tube. Unlike a pH test through the OTO viewer, I've not experienced any difference on the CYA test. I have seen differences if I hold the tube itself differently. The position of my fingers around the tube can skew my results. But when I do the CYA test, I do it several times to where I am confident in my CYA result within 10 ppm.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,835

    Re: Where to do CYA test

    B,

    In my opinion, knowing your CYA is between 60 and 80 is close enough for good pool management...

    I also agree with your 5 different people theory... But the whole point is for you to run the tests in the same way each time, so that you end up with the about the same answer each time.

    I use a sliding dot test kit and find that for me, it is much more repeatable..

    Thanks,

    Jim R.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    MyAZPool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    211

    Re: Where to do CYA test

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimrahbe View Post
    B,

    In my opinion, knowing your CYA is between 60 and 80 is close enough for good pool management...

    I also agree with your 5 different people theory... But the whole point is for you to run the tests in the same way each time, so that you end up with the about the same answer each time.

    I use a sliding dot test kit and find that for me, it is much more repeatable..

    Thanks,

    Jim R.

    Jim R.
    Jim,
    This is an interesting thread, as the CYA test in the TF-100 is the one test that drives me a little nuts, as I strive for consistency and try to get results at least within the "hand grenade " range. Can you please share a little more info regarding the "sliding dot test". Maybe switching over to that test, will help save me from explaining to my neighbors why I was using "colorful" language while I conduct my routine pool chemistry testing.
    20,500G PebbleTecョ Play/Lap Pool & Spa (Salt/Borate/Soft H2O). Pentair IntelliCenter Automation, IntelliFlo VSF, IntelliChlor IC-60, IntellipH, 6 IntelliValves, Triton II TR-100C Sand Filter (1/2 Zeobest) w/Glycerin Filled PG, MiniMax 100 Spa Heater, Jandy MAX HP Spa Jet Pump, J&J Color Splash XG 120v LED, Hayward AquaNaut 400 In-wall Suction Cleaner, SP Auto-fill Leveler, TF-100/K1766/pH Meter/Speedstir

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    78

    Re: Where to do CYA test

    Yes what is the sliding dot test and what kit is that? Taylor?
    13,500 gallons (pool/spa),Wet Edge Primera Stone plaster (Sapphire Treasure), Pentair IC40,VSF,Cart Filter,EZTouch 8 with SL,Mastertemp,Legend cleaner,whisoerflow,Booster pump,Glacier Chiller,built April 2018

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,835

    Re: Where to do CYA test

    Guys,

    I have this Pentair test kit.. Amazon.com : Pentair R151226 79 Cyanuric Acid Test Kit : Swimming Pool Liquid Test Kits : Garden Outdoor

    It appears to be a clone of the Blue Devil test kit.. I use Blue Devil reagent...

    I am not saying it is better for everyone, just me...

    The downside is that is uses much more reagent... the upside is that the volume of the pool-water/reagent never changes... You just slide the "dot" up and down, so that you can repeatedly make the dot appear or disappear. I doubt it is any more accurate than the test in the TF-100, I just find it much easier to use and my results are more constant.

    It works the same way... with no CYA and the dot at the bottom of the tube, you can still see it.. With about 100 ppm of CYA, you have to bring the dot up near the top of the test tube to see it..

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    31,199

    Re: Where to do CYA test

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimrahbe View Post
    B,

    In my opinion, knowing your CYA is between 60 and 80 is close enough for good pool management...

    I also agree with your 5 different people theory... But the whole point is for you to run the tests in the same way each time, so that you end up with the about the same answer each time.

    I use a sliding dot test kit and find that for me, it is much more repeatable..

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    A great big PLUS ONE to this post. This test is the most over thought test that we use. We stress over the lighting, cloudy days, fingers position, etc. all trying to get a precision that the test simply does not provide.....regardless of how many tips and tricks you try.

    Perform the test by following the instructions provided and then, if not comfortable with that result, pour the solution out of the view tube and then back in several times. Take the average of your observations and that is your CYA.

    Sliding dot or the 9193 found in the TF-100, they will both give you results that are within the degree of precision we need.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •