Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Temperature sensor

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Conroe/TX
    Posts
    1

    Temperature sensor

    Hello to all!
    I have a Jandy system and it seems that the sensor is not reading the water temperature of the pool or of the spa. I am trying to heat the pool and spa but the remote stays on ENA and the temperature is blank. Any idea as to what needs to be done to fix the sensor, where do i find the sensor?

    Thank you,
    Tony

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Temperature sensor

    Is the pump on?

    The temperature sensor is in the plumbing before the heater. There is a clamp holding the sensor in place and a wire going to the automation box.

    ENA means enabled. It's probably not turning on because the pump is off or it's not getting a reading from the sensor.
    Support the site

    Trouble Free Pool is a free resource. The people who answer questions are volunteers. If you find the site to be a good resource, please consider making a donation to help support the site. Thanks.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,797

    Re: Temperature sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    Is the pump on?

    The temperature sensor is in the plumbing before the heater. There is a clamp holding the sensor in place and a wire going to the automation box.

    ENA means enabled. It's probably not turning on because the pump is off or it's not getting a reading from the sensor.
    +1

    Main screen should be giving you a temp display (accurate or otherwise) while the filter pump is on. If you aren't getting anything, either the pump isn't on (pump needs to be on to heat), or if your pump is running, you may have lost communication with the pump, and it is running on its own and automation reports system is off. (IF it is a variable speed pump).
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak (Rheem, Rudd), Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    144

    Re: Temperature sensor

    if you have a multimeter you can use it to determine if the sensor... Dirk posted a chart in another thread (linked below) that shows the resistance readings for given temperatures. I'm pretty sure your system uses the same type of sensor so it should be pretty close.

    Dirk's temp chart:
    Temperature probe bad?

    Tom

    10,000 gal pool with Pentair Intellitouch i5 and indoor controller, Goldline Aqua Rite salt water gen, Intelliflo variable speed pump.
    I tinker with pentair controllers and can re-flash firmware, replace lcds, troubleshoot and repair main boards, and fix comm errors in indoor and outdoor controllers.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,797

    Re: Temperature sensor

    If the sensor fails, you will probably be able to tell without the bother of ohming it out. It has been my experience that, when they do fail, they do not report a deviation of 5 or 10 degrees, or even 10%, you will get reports in excess of like 250 degrees, 0 degrees, or "temp sensor fail". If you get no temp displayed (LCD) i think your problem is something other than the sensor.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak (Rheem, Rudd), Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    144

    Re: Temperature sensor

    hey Pool Clown, that is good to know AND very timely...

    this morning my water temperature reading was 198F Just for kicks I measured the sensor and got .885k, so the ET8 board is interpreting it correctly. It's possible that the sensor is blocked or dirty, but more than likely it's dead.

    10,000 gal pool with Pentair Intellitouch i5 and indoor controller, Goldline Aqua Rite salt water gen, Intelliflo variable speed pump.
    I tinker with pentair controllers and can re-flash firmware, replace lcds, troubleshoot and repair main boards, and fix comm errors in indoor and outdoor controllers.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,797

    Re: Temperature sensor

    If you remove the sensor from the plumbing, you will probably see a crack in it.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak (Rheem, Rudd), Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •