Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    MOBILE, AL
    Posts
    10

    Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Good Evening-
    I am a new pool owner who was suckered into a pristine blue package when I bought the pool. After spending a lot of money on chemicals, I decided to do some research and found unflattering reviews of the product and decided to switch to chlorine.
    I took the advice of others and purchased a good test kit (the TF100) to see what was going on in my pool without being taken at the pool store again.
    Here is my question: what do I do to switch to a chlorine regimen from pristine blue?
    Here are my specs: 16k gal, 1.5hp pump w/ a 250gal filter above ground pool.

    Here are my test results:
    PH- 7.8
    Cl- no reading
    Br- no Reading
    CH- 325
    TA- 100
    CYA- no reading (i could see the black dot till the tube was full)

    Thanks for any advice you can provide- have a great night!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad mknauss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Laughlin, NV
    Posts
    11,793

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Welcome to the forum!

    Great job on the test kit!

    Add 3 ppm FC worth of liquid chlorine. Then add 30 ppm worth of CYA powder using the sock method. Follow the FC/CYA Chart once you have started adding the CYA. Once the powder is fully dissolved from the sock wait a couple days and test the CYA.

    Please add a signature. Read Pool School - Read This BEFORE You Post
    Information in your signature will show up each time you post and it makes advice more accurate as we know what equipment we are dealing with.

    I suggest you read Pool School - ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry and consider reviewing the entire Trouble Free Pool School book.

    You may also want to get the Pool Math app.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Please use the FAS-DPD test for FC and CC. If you have been adding alot of non-chlorine shock your CC may be testing high. Not an issue, just something to check on.
    6000 Gallon IG Fiberglass with integrated Spa;Pentair CCP240 Cartridge Filter with Pentair Intelliflo VS Pump and HTR250 heater. IC40 SWG. EasyTouch 4. Dolphin Active20 Robot "Roadrunner", TF 100 Test Kit w/SpeedStir!
    CLICK HERE to Become a TroubleFreePool.com Supporter!! Pool Math App
    Marty

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    MOBILE, AL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Thanks for the info! I will add a signature and read up on your recommendations. Some of the acronyms are lost on me, but a little research will clear that up. I appreciate your time!
    Mike

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Oly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    439

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Welcome lawndarter,

    FC = Free Chlorine
    CC = Combined Chlorine
    CYA = Cyanuric Acid

    Pool Math link, PoolMath
    Use this to calculate the amount of chlorine required to raise your FC to minimum 3 ppm and also the amount of CYA to raise your level to 30 ppm.
    27,000 gallons of central CA well water housed in a fiberglass coated concrete/plaster pool, dug into the most productive top soil on earth and surrounded by an urban forest.
    Cleaned with a Pentair 48 sq ft DE filter and a Dolphin Discovery (S200) robot. 250 gal Hot Springs Solana RX stand alone spa. Taylor K-2006. My first thread... New Old House, New Old Pool....

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    31,199

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    What does your water look like?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NE/Pa
    Posts
    1,675

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    I don’t know much yet but I would think with a free chlorine reading of 0. I would add some chlorine. Like half of slam level for a cya of 30 even though it’s zero. I personally would do an overnight test. And take it from there just to make sure there isn’t anything in the water.
    TFP - Come for advice, stay for the education, leave with knowledge -
    35x23/20 free form gunite 3.5-6 feet water. 20,000 gallons. 2 skim, 2 ret, floor ret, floor return. 2 inch solid. suction cleaning line. 1.5 inch solid. super blue diamond brite. NPT Gemstone Blue 2x2 with custom Disney Mickey markers. pentair equipment. master temp 300,000 BTU. de 60. inteliflo 3.0 VS. swg ic40. 3 globrite LED's. ET 4/SL. tf-100/ salt kit

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    MOBILE, AL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Thanks for the reply- the water is clear and fine...I am just very unhappy with how long biological agents can survive in the pristine blue system as opposed to chlorine, which is the primary reason for switching.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hi all- thanks for the reply...I added CYA, let the water circulate for 4 hours and added powdered chlorine. I am going to let it go overnight and test it again in the AM to see where I am at. I will post results when I get them.
    I really appreciate you all taking the time to help me as I stumble through this process!
    Mike

    - - - Updated - - -

    Yes, I have 0 chlorine reading right now. I updated below- added CYA, let it circulate, added chlorine. I am going to see where i am at in the AM...I will post results.
    Again, thanks a ton for your time!
    Mike
    Mike
    16000gal above ground, vinyl liner, 1.5hp pump w/ 250gal sand filter
    Started w pristine blue, going chlorine

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad mknauss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Laughlin, NV
    Posts
    11,793

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    You said 'powdered chlorine'. What was that? We recommend using liquid chlorine.

    If you have low CH, you can use Cal Hypo sparingly.
    6000 Gallon IG Fiberglass with integrated Spa;Pentair CCP240 Cartridge Filter with Pentair Intelliflo VS Pump and HTR250 heater. IC40 SWG. EasyTouch 4. Dolphin Active20 Robot "Roadrunner", TF 100 Test Kit w/SpeedStir!
    CLICK HERE to Become a TroubleFreePool.com Supporter!! Pool Math App
    Marty

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    MOBILE, AL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Good Evening -
    I picked up a pound of 'power powder plus' from the local pool store and added 9oz (that is what I got from the pool math app).
    By liquid chlorine, do you mean regular household bleach?
    Thanks again for your time...I will post test results in the AM.
    Mike
    Mike
    16000gal above ground, vinyl liner, 1.5hp pump w/ 250gal sand filter
    Started w pristine blue, going chlorine

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad mknauss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Laughlin, NV
    Posts
    11,793

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    The Powder stuff is Cal Hypo. It adds calcium to your water that to remove you must drain your pool. Your CH is 325. It does not need to go any higher. So do not use anymore of the Cal Hypo until you need to add calcium.

    Liquid chlorine is bleach. You can use plain, unscented, non splashless, no Cloromax bleach or get Liquid Chlorine, Liquid Shock, or Chlorinating liquid at Home Depot, Walmart, or Pool Stores.
    6000 Gallon IG Fiberglass with integrated Spa;Pentair CCP240 Cartridge Filter with Pentair Intelliflo VS Pump and HTR250 heater. IC40 SWG. EasyTouch 4. Dolphin Active20 Robot "Roadrunner", TF 100 Test Kit w/SpeedStir!
    CLICK HERE to Become a TroubleFreePool.com Supporter!! Pool Math App
    Marty

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    MOBILE, AL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Good Morning-
    Test results for this morning are:
    CL- 1
    Ph 7.8
    FC- 1.5
    CC- .5
    CH- 300 (went down- I had to add water to the pool)
    TA- 130
    CYA- 50

    At this point, I am thinking I need to add CL to get that 1 up a little. The ph is hovering at the upper limit...should I add acid to this or let it settle out for a bit.
    Thanks for any input you can provide.
    Mike
    Mike
    16000gal above ground, vinyl liner, 1.5hp pump w/ 250gal sand filter
    Started w pristine blue, going chlorine

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NE/Pa
    Posts
    1,675

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    If u r sure about the cya level u raise ur fc level based on a liquid dosed pool in pool math. Target 5. Range 2-8 on the app for cya of 50. I stay towards higher end when I liquid doses before salt so I have a buffer zone if the day burns off more than I thought.

    Right now u r below the min and run chance for algae.

    For ph. I look at my csi value in pool math. I keep my pool in the negative -.3 to 0 range to keep scale down cause I have a salt cell. But I base on lowering my ph when my csi falls out of where I want it to be. So figure out ur csi level and drop the ph if need be. I don’t know ur salt level of water temp but based on ur numbers if water is 65 degrees and 0 salt u r at .3 so I would be dropping it down to 7.2 to get ur ta down a bit too cause that is high.
    TFP - Come for advice, stay for the education, leave with knowledge -
    35x23/20 free form gunite 3.5-6 feet water. 20,000 gallons. 2 skim, 2 ret, floor ret, floor return. 2 inch solid. suction cleaning line. 1.5 inch solid. super blue diamond brite. NPT Gemstone Blue 2x2 with custom Disney Mickey markers. pentair equipment. master temp 300,000 BTU. de 60. inteliflo 3.0 VS. swg ic40. 3 globrite LED's. ET 4/SL. tf-100/ salt kit

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    MOBILE, AL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Good Morning All-
    Yesterday I added 128oz of liquid chlorine to up the FC level. To my surprise, this morning's test showed a decrease in FC. Here are the full test results:
    ph- 7.5 (i lowered it with dry acid).
    cl-.5 (barely)
    fc-.5 (barely)
    ch- 275 (went down again after exchanging some more water)
    TA- 130
    CYA- 50 (may be closer to 60...I am still figureing this test out as to when the black dot really disappears)

    Any idea why my chlorine level went down? I am thinking of adding more liquid clorine after work today, but want to make sure I am not missing anything.
    Thanks for any help you can provide!
    Mike
    Mike
    16000gal above ground, vinyl liner, 1.5hp pump w/ 250gal sand filter
    Started w pristine blue, going chlorine

  14. Back To Top    #14

    TFP Guide
    cfherrman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Hays, Kansas
    Posts
    1,702

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    I wouldn't bother with the oto clorine test, the yellow test with the pH, it's just gonna confuse you or us, it has uses in other places.

    Don't bother with messing with Ch right now, it's still low enough and it's best to mess with 1 thing at a time.

    Water replacement will drop your FC, a little, and your cya, so at this time it's best not to mess with that as well.

    You mentioned 128 oz of clorine, which means it's a jug of liquid clorine and not bleach. What is the date on the jug as this time of year clorine jugs are old and often over priced 'water'. It's typically best to stick to Walmarts 121oz jug of 6% bleach, fresh and cheap, just have to use more.

    Make sure you get a really good brush on the pool
    Casey
    Intex 24' x 52" closed for winter 2018, 2 Main Drains, 1 Skimmer, 1 Return, PVC
    1/2 HP Intex Pump 633T w/ Taeglus TA-40 175 lb 19.5" Sand Filter, Auqabot Extreme Robot
    TF-50 and Taylor 2006 Test Kits, Quality Well Water, Fleck 5800SXT Water Softener

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    MOBILE, AL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Good Morning All-
    Thanks for the advice and help.
    Yesterday evening I added 1.8gal of 6% bleach (number from the poolmath app).
    This morning, my test results still WAY low on chlorine (hardly any reading).
    Any idea what seems to be going on- why I can't get the chlorine up? Any recommendations for the next step?
    Thanks again for your time
    Mike
    Mike
    16000gal above ground, vinyl liner, 1.5hp pump w/ 250gal sand filter
    Started w pristine blue, going chlorine

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Mod Squad mknauss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Laughlin, NV
    Posts
    11,793

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    An overnight loss of FC is concerning. Add sufficient liquid chlorine this morning to get to 10 ppm FC. This evening, follow Overnight Chlorine Loss Test raising your FC to 10 ppm prior to your evening test for the Overnight Chlorine Loss Test.
    6000 Gallon IG Fiberglass with integrated Spa;Pentair CCP240 Cartridge Filter with Pentair Intelliflo VS Pump and HTR250 heater. IC40 SWG. EasyTouch 4. Dolphin Active20 Robot "Roadrunner", TF 100 Test Kit w/SpeedStir!
    CLICK HERE to Become a TroubleFreePool.com Supporter!! Pool Math App
    Marty

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    MOBILE, AL
    Posts
    10

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Thanks!
    I will do that and post results int he AM. Much appreciated!
    Mike
    Mike
    16000gal above ground, vinyl liner, 1.5hp pump w/ 250gal sand filter
    Started w pristine blue, going chlorine

  18. Back To Top    #18
    JoeSelf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Glassboro NJ
    Posts
    433

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    To OP have you been following the directions in this thread:

    How to convert a Baquacil pool to chlorine

    Pristine Blue uses bacqua also, right?
    Last edited by JoeSelf; 10-12-2018 at 11:31 AM. Reason: oops
    13700 gal, 32'x16'x54" AG oval, vinyl, Echo Canyon II, 8500 series, Narrow Yard, Safety Fence & Stair, Sta-Rite Crystal Flow T-210WF, 44 GPM, Hayward SP1580TL 1HP Pump, Aqua Luminator, Festiva wedding cake steps, March 2006, TFT-100, Speed-Stir, Sample Sizer. Avatar Credit: TJ Townsend

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Mod Squad mknauss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Laughlin, NV
    Posts
    11,793

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeSelf View Post
    To OP have you been following the directions in this thread:

    How to convert a Baquacil pool to chlorine

    Pristine Blue uses bacqua also, right?
    No it does not contain bacqua.

    It does use copper sulfate and dichlor.
    6000 Gallon IG Fiberglass with integrated Spa;Pentair CCP240 Cartridge Filter with Pentair Intelliflo VS Pump and HTR250 heater. IC40 SWG. EasyTouch 4. Dolphin Active20 Robot "Roadrunner", TF 100 Test Kit w/SpeedStir!
    CLICK HERE to Become a TroubleFreePool.com Supporter!! Pool Math App
    Marty

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    NE/Pa
    Posts
    1,675

    Re: Switching from pristine blue to chlorine...HELP!

    If this was me. I would add x amount of chlorine at dark. I would have pump running fast. I would then do ur chlorine test 30 mins later in dark. I would make sure I was at x level. I would go to bed. Get up in morning still dark out and test. Should be same or only .5 ppl lower. If 1 or more lower ppm from when u went to bed u fail the overnightctest and u need to slam.

    Its a typical overnight test. Means there is algae eating ur chlorine at night when there is no sun. Slam.

    I mean if u put in a gallon at night if it was dark and u woke up to no fc I would assume u got algae brewing.

    Am am I missing something here from others following.


    Jist check ur date for ur chlorine or whatever. I use Walmart pool chlorine. I check the date. Never had an issue. It’s stronger than regular household bleach. No reason not to use it if date is proper. U can use whatever as long as it’s in date. I use Leslie’s at times too. I check the date. No issues. Just make sure whatever u use u put in right numbers in pool math to make sure u know what ur fc level should be when u measure 30 mins later before u go to bed.
    TFP - Come for advice, stay for the education, leave with knowledge -
    35x23/20 free form gunite 3.5-6 feet water. 20,000 gallons. 2 skim, 2 ret, floor ret, floor return. 2 inch solid. suction cleaning line. 1.5 inch solid. super blue diamond brite. NPT Gemstone Blue 2x2 with custom Disney Mickey markers. pentair equipment. master temp 300,000 BTU. de 60. inteliflo 3.0 VS. swg ic40. 3 globrite LED's. ET 4/SL. tf-100/ salt kit

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •