Closing, Skimmer Question

stevex

Oct 4, 2009
Hi. I'm a newbie here, and a newbie to pools. Bought a house with an in-ground pool, moved in in early September. Foolishly said "no thanks" when the previous owner offered to close it, and now I'm paying for about a weeks worth of pool usage with having to figure out how to close the pool.

I think I'm doing okay so far. The pump and sand filter are in the garage, which will be heated through the winter. I've managed to blow and cap the lines to the jets with a shop vac.

I bought a Gizzmo for the skimmer basket, but it doesn't fit. The Gizzmo has threads right on the end of it, but the basket has the threads recessed in a bit where the Gizzmo doesn't reach. I'm not sure what to do about that.

Also, there are two lines from the skimmer. One of them obviously goes to the pump, but where does the other go? What do I do about that one?

Thanks!
-- Steve

stevex said:
Also, there are two lines from the skimmer. One of them obviously goes to the pump, but where does the other go? What do I do about that one?
Hi Steve... Welcome to TFP! :)

Where does the other skimmer line go? Two possibilities come to mind. Your skimmer might be connected to the main drain(s). Or it could bend around and connect to an inlet beneath the water line, usually close by the skimmer. (Done to circumvent loss of prime at the pump in case the water level drops below skimmer.)

What to do with this? I'll leave that question for the closing experts here on this forum...

The double port in the bottom of the skimmer is not always used. One could be plugged and only look like there's a pipe underneath....check to make sure.

If you have two pipes, one goes to the pump and the other either to a main drain or another skimmer.........Less likely, it can also go to the "relief" port as polyvue decribed.

So I think I figured out where the 2nd line from the skimmer goes - to the main drain.