Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help with Sta-Rite heater and Aqua Logic

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Madison, AL (north AL)
    Posts
    77

    Help with Sta-Rite heater and Aqua Logic

    Hey, first post (new pool). I've got an Aqua Logic PS-8 and a Sta-Rite SR400NA heater. I'd like to control the temp with the thermostat setting in the AL menus, but the heater itself has its own thermostat setting on its control pad. They seem to conflict with one another. If I turn the heater thermostat all the way up, will this allow the AL to be in control?

    BTW, the AL is connected to the heater with the 2-wire config using the Fireman's Switch.

    Thanks,
    Phillip
    25k gal IG freeform pool, gunite/plaster, built in 2006; Aqua Logic AQL-PS-8 control w/ T-CELL-15 SWG; Sta-Rite S8M150 cartridge filter; Sta-Rite SR400NA gas heater; Polaris 280

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    441

    Re: Help with Sta-Rite heater and Aqua Logic

    PhilipH,

    Welcome to BABC!

    I have an Aqua Logic PS-4, so it is virtually identical to your unit. I don't have the manual right in front of me, but from memory the heater temp controls should be set as high as they can possibly go. That way, as far as the heater itself is concerned, it is always ready to go on whenever the filter pump is turned on. Then the Aqua Logic decides, based on the water temperature sensor input, when the heater should turn on and off via the Fireman Switch connection.

    I hope this helps. If not, keep asking questions.

    Do you have the Aqua Logic manual?
    24,000 gallon inground freeform pool/spa circa 1983 (113 ft perimeter, 625 sq ft) with 350 gallon attached spill-over spa
    2007 2 HP, three-phase Hayward TriStar pump which is powered by an Ikeric VS-200 variable speed drive system
    1983 Laars XE Pool/Spa Heater Type ES 400,000 BTU, 1998 Hayward Super Star-Clear C-4000 cartridge filter (400 sq ft, 4 separate cartridges)
    1998 Polaris 380 pressure-side cleaner w/ 3/4 HP booster pump
    One skimmer :( and one PoolSkim :), One Supervision Galaxy LED pool lamp, Second story solar panels
    Hayward/GoldLine AquaLogic PS4 (replaced 1983 vintage dual circuit Intermatic timer)

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Madison, AL (north AL)
    Posts
    77

    Re: Help with Sta-Rite heater and Aqua Logic

    Thanks. I do have the manual, and the most relevant info is in the Installation manual (not the Operations). Looking at the connections for the "generic" heater is what tipped me off. It says to do just what we are saying regarding the heater temp. However, I have a Sta-Rite heater and the AL manual has a special section for a Sta-Rite heater, and it doesn't mention anything about turning the heater temp up. I bet that's it though, and I'll verify in the next couple of days.

    Phillip
    25k gal IG freeform pool, gunite/plaster, built in 2006; Aqua Logic AQL-PS-8 control w/ T-CELL-15 SWG; Sta-Rite S8M150 cartridge filter; Sta-Rite SR400NA gas heater; Polaris 280

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Coastalish 'down easter'
    Posts
    4,160

    Re: Help with Sta-Rite heater and Aqua Logic

    Phillip, Hi Titanium gave you the 100% correct answer (Hi Titanium, boy... it's great to share a thread with you again! :P )

    Just to reiterate, set the heater to it's highest temp and then let the AquaLogic take over --- as long as you have the water temp probe installed!!
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

    Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

    POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    441

    Re: Help with Sta-Rite heater and Aqua Logic

    waste,

    I'm honored that you remembered me.

    I haven't been very active this summer on the board.
    24,000 gallon inground freeform pool/spa circa 1983 (113 ft perimeter, 625 sq ft) with 350 gallon attached spill-over spa
    2007 2 HP, three-phase Hayward TriStar pump which is powered by an Ikeric VS-200 variable speed drive system
    1983 Laars XE Pool/Spa Heater Type ES 400,000 BTU, 1998 Hayward Super Star-Clear C-4000 cartridge filter (400 sq ft, 4 separate cartridges)
    1998 Polaris 380 pressure-side cleaner w/ 3/4 HP booster pump
    One skimmer :( and one PoolSkim :), One Supervision Galaxy LED pool lamp, Second story solar panels
    Hayward/GoldLine AquaLogic PS4 (replaced 1983 vintage dual circuit Intermatic timer)

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Madison, AL (north AL)
    Posts
    77

    Re: Help with Sta-Rite heater and Aqua Logic

    Quote Originally Posted by waste
    Phillip, Hi Titanium gave you the 100% correct answer (Hi Titanium, boy... it's great to share a thread with you again! :P )

    Just to reiterate, set the heater to it's highest temp and then let the AquaLogic take over --- as long as you have the water temp probe installed!!
    Yep, that did seem to work last night. Thanks guys.

    Phillip
    25k gal IG freeform pool, gunite/plaster, built in 2006; Aqua Logic AQL-PS-8 control w/ T-CELL-15 SWG; Sta-Rite S8M150 cartridge filter; Sta-Rite SR400NA gas heater; Polaris 280

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •