add bleach while SW system comes online?

tmtklt

Jul 29, 2009
Mobile, AL
Howdie, from Mobile, AL. I'm hoping y'all can give me a bit of guidance. We've recently built a new pool. My husband and I have no prior pool experience, so I'm diving in quick as I am determined to learn as much about this as I can. I've read the pool school guides and they are very helpful. Pool school with the builder is scheduled for this evening. We are going to put salt in the pool tonight as well. Should we add some bleach to bump up the chlorine while the SW system is coming online? The reason for no chlorine until now is becuase the builder said we could not put any chemicals in the pool for 10 days due to the plaster being new. Now the 10 days has passed. And the pool water is being turned over to us as of this evening.

I'm planning to order one of the recommended test kits as soon as payday gets here, but here are numbers as of yesterday from Leslie's:

FC: 0
pH: 7.8 (builder recommends 7.2 - 7.6 or my warranty will be voided)
TA: 90
CH: 140 (builder recommends 250 for gunite pools)
CYA: 50
Phosphates: 100 (not sure of the significance of this)

I think I need to add a bit of muriatic acid to bump the pH down a bit, add calcium increaser to bump the CH up to 250, but should I do anything the the TA or CYA?

Thanks for any help.

Pool info:
12,600 gallon free form gunite pool with spill over spa (it would be more but the tanning ledge is huge)
1.5 hp two speed Super II pump
Goldline P4 controller with salt system
450 swim clear filter
250 btu Hayward heater
3/4 hp booster pump
Hayward Viio cleaner
aqual blue quartz finish
pump run time: 4 hours on high in the morning with 2 hours of cleaner time here too, and 6 hours on low in the afternoon

I don't think you are supposed to make any significant adjustments to the CH level in the first few weeks - discuss this with the PB.