Wood and Block pool

morrodds

LifeTime Supporter
Aug 19, 2009
Leona Valley, CA
Greetings,

In 2002 we set up an AG rectangular pool on the South slope in front of our house. A 3' high block wall was built into the slope to make a flat area 15 X 34. Later a composite deck around 2 and a half sides. Here's what it looked like the week before Christmas. Note my sons bare footprints.
oldpoolsnow.jpg

The pool had its problems and required replacement. I studied various options and designed a pool to fit the existing deck and walls. Plans and books were purchased from DEB Design, Homebuilt Pools and Sunland Owner-built pools. I also investigated a Vanishing edge pool - beyond me, I decided. The final design uses pressure treated (PT) wood framing 4' high along the South and West walls. The Other walls were extended 1' above the block and all 4 walls were covered with 1/2" PT plywood.

Here's the old pool and other mess before demo.
oldpool2.jpg

Here's a view of the South wall posts being set in concrete. PT 4x4s 6 feet long are set in 2' of concrete with a 34' 12"X12" bond beam connecting them. The initial deep end hole is seen here also.
concreteandposts.jpg

The West and North walls are shown before the vertical extension and end wall framing are finished. Note the South wall posts.
pitwest.jpg

Here is the East wall with extension framing and skimmer hole, Some of the framing for the South wall is in.
piteast.jpg

The wall framing is complete with the plywood sheathing. SS screws used throughout. PT wood is rated for contact with soil.
woodesat.jpg

Here's the West view with returns and vacuum port visible. The Solar cover will reside under the far deck and an extension to the left. 46" shallow - 6'6" deep end.
woodwest.jpg

Last Saturday the perlite/concrete bottom was placed. White foam on the walls. 2X8s with beveled edges in the corners. Note the composite decking on the pool walls.
perliteandfoam.jpg

Liner in and filling with water - Saturday afternoon.