BBB in a brand new pool

Aug 16, 2009
Southestern PA
I've been reading about pool chemistry and BBB on this site, and have learned quite a bit.

What do you think of doing this?

In a brand new just filled pool, using Trichlor (in a chlorinator) until CYA level reaches N (not sure what "N" should be - what should it be?).

Then switch to BBB.

The reasoning is that since it is a new pool (and my first - total noob), the pool company will "support" me for a while using a "pool company approved method" (Trichlor) should anything go haywire. And it will get me some CYA in the pool.

But I do not want to use the Trichlor for an extended period because I do not want to be draining and refilling the pool due to CYA build up - there are issues with where the water will go if it is drained, and I have a well which makes it scary to pump massive amounts of water into it.

Welcome to TFP

Yes, you can startup with trichlor. You'll gain CYA pretty rapidly because you'll be using a lot of chlorine at first due to the low CYA. Chem Geek can tell you how much CYA each puck adds, so if you keep a count, you can know when you are close. The exact level to shoot for with CYA depends on a lot of things, including where you live. My pool seems to like 40ppm really well, but YMMV.

Hi newpull,

newpull said:
In a brand new just filled pool, using Trichlor (in a chlorinator) until CYA level reaches N (not sure what "N" should be - what should it be?).
Generally, the recommended CYA level is 30 to 50; however, depending on your location, sun exposure,etc., it could be higher.

What type of pool do you have? Adding your pool and equipment info in your sig would be helpful.
Instructions are in Pool School in the first article.

Welcome to the forum :wave:

newpull said:
In a brand new just filled pool, using Trichlor (in a chlorinator) until CYA level reaches N