Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: leak at pump outlet/diverter valve to cart. tank/cleaner

1. Back To Top    #1

leak at pump outlet/diverter valve to cart. tank/cleaner

I noticed a leak where the cartridge side of the diverter valve is dripping, circled in green, http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g180/ ... 0820-1.jpg. The diverter valve is attached to the pump outlet and the valve Ts flow to the cartridge tank on one side and the cleaner line on the other, http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g180/ ... G_0822.jpg.

I am a pool newbie who started out with no leaks a few months ago and just noticed this yesterday. Is this a major issue that needs to be addressed asap, or can it wait until the weekend? I believe I can tackle a project like this with some advice from you guys. I assume I am going to need to replace the valve and use pvc couplings to reinstall? Are there any specific types of glue, pipe, etc. for pool applications?

Pump is a Jandy Stealth 1.5hp SHPF.

Thanks
    ~15000 gallon inground, plaster pool
    Jandy CL460 Cartridge Filter Tank, Jandy Stealth SHPF 1.5hp pump, Pentair Legend II cleaner
    Leslie's DPD Complete Test Kit, TF Tests FAS-DPD Chlorine Test Kit
    Heliocol solar pool heating (HC-40 x6)

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: leak at pump outlet/diverter valve to cart. tank/cleaner

No, not a major issue. There isn't anything special that you need to repair it with. Just regulat PVC40 and PVC cleaner and glue.

3. Back To Top    #3

Being the leak is at the couple connected to the valve, how would you cut and reconnect?
    Jandy CL460 Cartridge Filter Tank, Jandy Stealth SHPF 1.5hp pump, Pentair Legend II cleaner

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome to TFP!! BOTH of you

Are you sure it's the glued connection and not the lid leaking? (looks like 2 screws are missing in the second photo, right where the circle is in the first)