Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: "Funny-Acting" Spa Valve

1. Back To Top    #1

"Funny-Acting" Spa Valve

I'm new to TFP, so thanks for reading a newbie's post.

I have an in-ground pool with an attached spa/hot tub in my backyard. The spa has 6 valves/vents. The pool/spa is about 3 years old. When we were in the spa last night I noticed that 5 of the 6 vents/valves had strong air pressure blowing during spa operation. The 6th had some pressure but it was MUCH lower than the rest. Then today during normal pool operation, the 5 valves have good water pressure coming out (normal), BUT the "bad" vent actually has suction now instead of water pressure coming out. I put my finger in the non-working valve and can't feel anything.

I have some electrical fish tape that I was going to insert and see if it hits anything, but wanted to check with this group before I try anything.

I'm wondering if anyone has a suggestion or way to troubleshoot what might be going on??

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: "Funny-Acting" Spa Valve

ews,

Welcome to TFP.. a great place to find the answers to all your Funny-Acting Spa questions..., even if you are ashamed of the city you live in...

I guess my first question is... Did the spa work fine for the first 3 years, and just now went bad, or did you just notice it?

Does your spa have an air blower?

I don't have an in-ground Spa, so not much of an expert, but if you can answer these questions, I'll bet you might get some better responses..

Thanks,

Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

3. Back To Top    #3

Hi @Jimrahbe,