Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Three position valve actuator?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Delray Beach
    Posts
    60

    Three position valve actuator?

    Is there such thing as a valve actuator that can be set for three different positions with iAquaLink automation? I have a pool with a spa and waterfall into the pool. I want to be able to have three settings. One for isolated spa only. One for partial spa and pool split for the waterfall to flow. And one for isolated pool for when I want to heat the pool efficiently. My current actuators only can be set to two positions.

    Thanks in advance!

    -Chad

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,830

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    Chad,

    Not really.... use the search box in the upper right of your screen and enter "Smart JVA"..

    It appears to allow you to use your automation to adjust a valve to various positions with your remote .. Basically like going over to the valve and using the handle, but doing it with your remote instead.

    It still does not allow three fixed positions.. such as Left, Right, and half Left and Right..

    So far no one here has seen them in operation....

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    464

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    By "waterfall" are you referring to how the spa spills over a wall into the pool? Or do you have a waterfall feature separate from the spa?
    18Kgal play pool+spillover spa, Tahoe Blue Quartzscape refurb June 2017, ~40'x15'
    1.5HP VS JeP, CCP420 cartridge filter, Sta-Rite 400HD, 1.0HP VS JeP for sheer descents
    Caretaker 5-port in-floor system, AP1400 SWCG, Aqualink: RS-8 Combo, iQ20, One-Touch
    K-1005, K-1515 FAS-DPD, K-1766, Taylor 9056 comparator, SpeedStir!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Delray Beach
    Posts
    60

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    Thanks Jim. The smart JVA looks like a viable option.

    Dodger, the waterfall is a spa spillover. Not independent feature.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    464

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChadJ View Post
    One for partial spa and pool split for the waterfall to flow.
    Quote Originally Posted by ChadJ View Post
    Dodger, the waterfall is a spa spillover. Not independent feature.
    Do you have the Spillover option listed in your Aqualink already? This is a Jandy macro that puts the Intake valve open to the Pool-only side, and the Return valve open to the Spa-only side. You don't get partial spa and pool return, but you can switch between spillover, spa only, and pool only through your automation.

    Also, from my reading of the specs, the SmartJVA is for auxiliary water feature valves only. I didn't see how it can be wired (or assigned thru the OneTouch) to the standard Return or Intake actuators. If you pursue that and get it to work, please post about it.
    Last edited by Dodger; 03-03-2018 at 06:52 PM. Reason: clarified
    18Kgal play pool+spillover spa, Tahoe Blue Quartzscape refurb June 2017, ~40'x15'
    1.5HP VS JeP, CCP420 cartridge filter, Sta-Rite 400HD, 1.0HP VS JeP for sheer descents
    Caretaker 5-port in-floor system, AP1400 SWCG, Aqualink: RS-8 Combo, iQ20, One-Touch
    K-1005, K-1515 FAS-DPD, K-1766, Taylor 9056 comparator, SpeedStir!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,830

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    Chad,

    Your Spa spillover should only work when commanded.. It should not be on all the time. Your Return valve is either not positioned correctly or you have a "Make up" valve that you should close...

    Without automation, unless you turned a valve no fresh water would flow to the Spa.. To fix this, either a make up valve was added that would force some water to the Spa even in the Pool mode... When the pool builder was too cheap to install a make up valve, he would just misadjust the return valve, so that some water would always go to the Spa...

    Moving in the this century.. pools with Automation are often installed by the old time pool builders... forcing the Spa into continuous spillover..

    With Automation in the Pool mode, or the Spa mode, you should have zero spill over. If you want the Spa to spillover, you select the Spillover mode... This way you only have spillover when you want. And to keep the Spa water fresh, you can just schedule the Spillover mode to turn on a couple of times a day for half an hour or so.

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Delray Beach
    Posts
    60

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    That makes a lot of sense! I’m looking all over for a spillover mode in iAquaLink but can’t seem to find it. Can anyone suggest where this setting might be located? It’s driving me nuts.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Delray Beach
    Posts
    60

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    Success! Found that dip switch 3 was down. Put it up and spillover option apppeared. Adjusted the cam in the return JVA and had to reverse the plugs because they were backward (intake vs return.) It’s perfect now! Thank you!!!

    -Chad

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,830

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    Chad,

    Glad you got it going...

    Thanks for the feedback..

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    464

    Re: Three position valve actuator?

    Awesome. Sounds like you inherited the same setup I did. Just fixed it last Fall.

    Just make sure you didn't have another item plugged into the Aux3 position on the RS control board, which is now owned by that Spillover macro. I had to move my air blower plug from Aux 3 to an unused Aux position and then assign the new Aux label via the iAqualink.
    18Kgal play pool+spillover spa, Tahoe Blue Quartzscape refurb June 2017, ~40'x15'
    1.5HP VS JeP, CCP420 cartridge filter, Sta-Rite 400HD, 1.0HP VS JeP for sheer descents
    Caretaker 5-port in-floor system, AP1400 SWCG, Aqualink: RS-8 Combo, iQ20, One-Touch
    K-1005, K-1515 FAS-DPD, K-1766, Taylor 9056 comparator, SpeedStir!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •