Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: First time opening

1. Back To Top    #1

First time opening

This is my first year opening my pool. I just got the water circulating and I plan to start SLAMing soon, but Iím concerned that the sight valve on my filter seems to be empty and my pressure gauge is reading zero.... I donít think this is a good thing and Iím curious for input. Should I continue with the SLAM or could something have gone wrong when I primed the pump?

8,300 gal, IG fiberglass, sand filter, Taylor Technologies 2006, AutoPilot Nanodigital SWG

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First time opening

Your pump basket should be full of water which indicates full prime. Is that the case? Also, make sure your water level is correct, at least halfway up the skimmer mouth opening and that any winterizing plug (i.e. Gizmo, rubber plugs, etc) were removed.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Yeah, all that is good.... the sight glass is full now too. I had to do a backwash for that to fill. Pressure gauge is still at 0, but the pump basket is full with water and the return lines are flowing.

8,300 gal, IG fiberglass, sand filter, Taylor Technologies 2006, AutoPilot Nanodigital SWG

4. Back To Top    #4

Might keep an eye on that pressure gauge then. Little love tap or two and see if it does anything. With water flowing through the filter and returns, there should be "some" indication of back-pressure, so zero may mean the gauge quit on you. If so, you can get a nice quality glycerin gauge from TFTeskit.net like THESE.