Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Does my valve need replacing?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    338

    Does my valve need replacing?

    Hey, so when running my water feature, the Goldline valve leaks when I activate it. It does not leak when I have the valve deactivated. See attached video. Does this mean the entire valve is done for and I need to replace or should I be taking it apart to fix something inside it?

    pool valve broken - YouTube
    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,849

    Re: Does my valve need replacing?

    Mo,

    They sell rebuild kits for these valves... Just looks like a seal is gone...

    Just in case you did not know, the electric actuator comes off and the valve is underneath. A few screws and it comes apart.

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    338

    Re: Does my valve need replacing?

    Ok so everything in the actuator section is good then Iím assuming. Itís nice and dry and works appropriately with my remote to open and close.


    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    338

    Does my valve need replacing?

    I took the valve apart. What part would I need to be finding? The middle piece that labeled DIV-20? The top cover piece or the o-ring that goes around the threads of the cover piece?

    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,849

    Re: Does my valve need replacing?

    Mo,

    If I went to all the trouble to open the valve, I would install the "kit" that comes with all the replaceable items...

    I would also look inside and make sure nothing is cracked in the maim body of the valve.

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    338

    Re: Does my valve need replacing?

    I think I found my culprit


    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,849

    Re: Does my valve need replacing?

    Mo,

    Just put a whole tube of pool lube on it and stick it back together...

    Glad you found it...

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    338

    Re: Does my valve need replacing?

    Well this just got a whole lot worse. Crack the whole piece when screwing things back on. Iím thinking of just getting in someone to fix everything thing now since it involves a lot more work


    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,849

    Re: Does my valve need replacing?

    Mo,

    As a general rule the holes strips out before anything else happens..

    I suspect maybe the crack was already there...

    Unless you used one of the screws holding the actuator on.. I believe they are longer...

    Sorry...

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Modawg2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    338

    Re: Does my valve need replacing?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimrahbe View Post
    Mo,

    As a general rule the holes strips out before anything else happens..

    I suspect maybe the crack was already there...

    Unless you used one of the screws holding the actuator on
    That's what it cracked. I used one of the actuator screws thinking I would screw them in a bit to test the valve out to see that I had it setup right before putting on the actuator.
    ~15k gallons, 3'-5'-4' Figure 8 Shape In Ground
    Wetedge Satin Matrix Interior (Pebble)
    Paramount In-floor System
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050, Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •