Pentair VS Pump settings

Mar 31, 2017
Nc
Hello all. Nearing completion of an off season pool installation. I've been quietly reading on the forum for months and my most recent reading has been on the Florida Atlantic pool flow study. My installer is old school and he is recommending the typical turn the water over 1-2 times daily. He is also a fan of 2 speed pumps with timer rather than vs pumps so he isn't offering alot of advice on settings for the VS pump I went with instead. So my current questions are the following.

1. For a small pool (10,500 gallons) if I wanted to run the recommended 2-3 hours per day what would be a good speed to run it at when I am not using the heater?
2. Then on days I need to use the heater for say 4-6 hours what would be a setting to run the pump for that window?

I tried some of the various pool math but the variables involved keeping throwing me off a bit and I am VERY new to pools. My initial thoughts were 1200 for 2-3 hours daily or 1000 for 4-6 hours when the heat pump is running. Still reading on the most efficient speed to run the pump and heat the water at the same time.
Thanks!

nbfg,

The speed you need to run when using the heater will depend on the heater. Heaters have a pressure switch that needs to close before the heater will work. Depending on your plumbing and the specific heater, your speed may be different than my speed... Each pool is a little different.

You will need to experiment to find at what speed the switch closes.. Then I suggest you add 100 RPM just to make sure.

When you do not want to run your heater, you can run any speed you want, but one of the main reason to run a pump is to skim the surface of the pool. So, again, it depends on your pool... 2-3 hours may be enough, and maybe not...