Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taking the plunge in Birmingham...

1. Back To Top    #1

Taking the plunge in Birmingham...

After much soul searching (and wallet searching…), my wife and I have decided to take the plunge, so to speak.
    We are planning an in-ground pool here in Birmingham, Alabama.

What I’m planning on is an approximately 18 x 36 IG gunite pool, ~22,000 gallons with spillover-spa and natural stone coping with SWG. I'm looking at using stamped concrete decking around the pool.

We’re planning on a maximum depth of 7 feet (no diving board) as well as a beach entry and tanning ledge.

Here are a few pics of the yard, both before and after a major tree removal in preparation for the pool. I've also attached an initial pool design by a local PB which we really like. We're still looking at different PBs though before we decide.

Any and all ideas and/or feedback are welcome. I’m completely new to this process but have been suitably impressed by the beautiful pools and backyards on this site and I hope ours comes out well too.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Bham Dave

22,000 gallon IG pool, spill-over spa, SWG, etc. (and mesh pool fence with self-closing gate for our 2-year-old!)

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Taking the plunge in Birmingham...

Welcome to TFP. Pool School is worth reading, a wealth of knowledge there (top of page). Purchase a good test kit, I am partial to the one in my signature TF100. List the specific's about the pool equip., plumbing, etc.,. There are alot of great people here to help you out.
    IG 18x36 oval vinyl, Spill over spa, Northstar 2hp-2spd, 2.5" piping, S310T 500lb Sand filter, 400k gas heater, AutoPilot SWCG
    http://www.tftestkits.net/

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Hi, Dave,

Welcome to the forum. That's a beautiful back yard for a pool. Hope you post up some pics along the way