Having trouble with pump and vacuum

Dec 13, 2017
Las Vegas
New to this forum.. I'm having some issues with my pump and vacuum. I'm still learning how everything works. I have a Pentair Clean and Clear Plus cartridge filter, with an Intelliflo 2 VST variable speed pump. I've got an 8k inground pool with a built in vacuum system. I've been using 3000RPM for cleaning, the highest it goes. However, it's not getting all the debri. Dirt tends to just congregate in certain areas instead of being sucked up. I had been using a manual pool vac for a bit to get that, but I just got a hose and vacuum head. I went to use it, but am not getting suction when I put it in the skimmer. There also doesn't seem to be hardly any suction from my skimmer. I don't remember whether I'm supposed to adjust a knob on my filter to make suction come from there. I'm getting pretty frustrated and would appreciate a point in the right direction. Thanks so much!

Welcome to the forum!

Let me understand what you posted - you are running your pump at 3000 rpm, but do not have suction at the skimmer? I assume there is water getting to the pump? If so, it must be coming from another source. Do you have multiple lines with valves on your suction side?

A picture of your equipment pad would be helpful.

I would also suggest digging into Pool School. Lots of reading and information for those new to a pool.

Could you fill out a signature? See Pool School - Getting Started

Take care.

fm,

Welcome to TFP... A great resource for all those pool owners living in Lost Wages... :shark:

I doubt you can run your 3 HP pump while trying to draw all your water through a vacuum hose. At least not a 3000 rpm. It would be like breathing through a straw... :p

As Marty points out, a picture of your equipment pad showing all the valves coming into your pump would really help.

Thanks for posting,

Jim R.

IMG_0729.jpgIMG_0727.jpg

- - - Updated - - -