Testing for nickel

Maestro

Silver Supporter
Jul 21, 2015
Cape May Court House, NJ
My doctor has diagnosed me with an allergy to nickel, and I want to test various water sources around my house including my pool for nickel.

I’ve found a commercial company that will test samples for me, but they want $50 per sample. Is there a kit out there that I can use to do the tests myself? I’ve been using a TF-100 test kit for three years, so I’m comfortable with doing that kind of water testing.

Also, is a reverse osmosis system effective in removing nickel from tap water?

I'm not familiar with nickle test kits but wanted to ask if your Raypak was a cupro-nickle heat exchanger or a copper heat exchanger. If its cupro, I'd expect you'd be more likely to have trace amounts of nickel, in which case the $50 would be worth it.

If I dig anything up test-wise, I'll let you know. But just to give you context, the "pro-Sumer" iron test I use cost $50 from Hannah and its well below pro-level. My best guess is that you won't find anything accurate enough for a health matter, so having a pro analysis would be worth it.

The problem will be monitoring levels if in fact your finding are positive.

Thanks, Swampwoman. I called Raypak and they told me it’s a copper heat exchanger. (The model number ends in C; an X would have meant it’s cupro.)

Please let me know if you dig up anything as far as a test goes, even though I understand your point about the quality of a home test kit. If there’s one available, it might be enough to tell me if my whole-house water softener is removing all of the metals from my well water that’s it’s supposed to.

I'm not familiar with nickle test kits but wanted to ask if your Raypak was a cupro-nickle heat exchanger or a copper heat exchanger. If its cupro, I'd expect you'd be more likely to have trace amounts of nickel, in which case the $50 would be worth it.