UV light with SWG?

Apr 8, 2011
Howdy folks I've been enjoying the 10k gallon chlorine for the last several years. This year it seemed like I had a harder time keeping the water up and I swear I used a lot more chlorine. Probably just me and my slammed summer schedule. I've decided I want to go Saltwater this winter. I'm a cheapskate and ordered a Megachlor swg from the internet, claims its rated for up to 17k gallons. I'm considering adding a 72watt uv light as additional measure. I know outdoor pools probably get enough uv from sunlight but it seems to me 24hrs of uv would be even better. I searched TFP and didn't see any threads with both uv and swg. Is there any reason UV and Saltwater don't go together?

g,

If it makes you feel better, go ahead and buy it, but the sunshine you get in Texas is more than enough UV. If you are a cheapskate, why buy "magic", that won't help your pool..??

Thanks,

Jim R.

UV will do nothing to decrease the chlorine consumption of an outdoor residential pool, it will actually increase it to some extent. It has nothing to do with how chlorine is introduced to the pool, whether salt or liquid chlorine, or even tablets, adding more UV to an outdoor pool is a waste.

I'm actually concerned that the search function may be defective if you searched the site for information on UV and didn't come across hundreds of posts saying the same. I might have to say something to the Admin regarding that.

Keep in mind- that UV light is only treating the water in direct contact with the light at *that time* yet as soon as the water enters the pool it is exposed to any and all cooties that may already be in or may enter the pool. Person to person transmission of disease is a very real possibility here.