Bringing back the pool to life

Nov 8, 2017
New Jersey
Hi,

I am new to the forum and to the pool maintenance as well. honestly i have zero experience with the maintenance and upkeep of the pool but i am learning through reading on web. Coming to the point I have pool which has not been taken care of for almost an year. It is in ground pool probably 16X36. It is filled with algae and debris. I was told by pool inspection company that the pool pump is shot and also the booster pump is shot. my concern is how should i approach this, shall i get all the work done now in November or shall I leave it for the next spring.
I am attaching a picture for better details.

View attachment 70558

With winter showing up very soon I would put it off until the spring. Start working on it as soon as the ice goes away.

Is the liner sagging on the left side of the pool? It also looks like it is floating in a couple spots. You may need to drain the pool and reset the liner.

Start reading through pool school at the top of the page, good place to start is ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry. Lots of great people here to help get your pool back up and running.

No more insects once it freezes. You can toss some bleach at it to start killing things but once the water gets below 60° there isn't much breeding going on in there.

It can be difficult to install a liner in cold weather too. I'd make sure the lines are empty, plug them up and wait for spring.

Since you will be looking at equipment you might want to consider a variable speed pump, much cheaper to run than a single speed, quieter too.

Is the variable speed same as dual speed. I was looking at the hayward 1.5 hp dual speed pump.
Everywhere I read it is difficult to install the liner in winter and that's the only reason I would delay fixing this.
Any recommended good source for buying a basic pool cover? I was looking at Doheny cover with 12 water bags