Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: water level?

1. Back To Top    #1

water level?

I feel like my water is dropping a little bit, is this normal, we just installed a fiberglass pool about 1 month ago, Im a newbie, so this might be normal. Its been very hot, and i know when its used(splashing,etc.) the water will go down. Just wondering.
    24 x48 above ground pool.
    hayward sand filter

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: water level?

the safest bet is to perform a bucket test to measure evaporation. Place a bucket filled half way with pool water on your walk in steps (if applicable) mark the water level inside the bucket and mark the water level on the outside of the bucket, they should lose the same percentage of water though evaporation. if the pool loses more you have an unaccounted for loss of water.
    -Kevin
    X-Pert Pool Service
    x-pertpool.com
    X-Pert Pool on Facebook and @XPertPoolServic on Twitter
    22,000 gal / 16' x 32' / Vinyl / Hayward s244t /Pentair SuperFlo 1 hp

3. Back To Top    #3

It's not uncommon for an uncovered pool to lose an inch a week, some more, some less, depending on arid conditions....

Solar blankets reduce evaporation.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by X-PertPool
    the safest bet is to perform a bucket test to measure evaporation. Place a bucket filled half way with pool water on your walk in steps (if applicable) mark the water level inside the bucket and mark the water level on the outside of the bucket, they should lose the same percentage of water though evaporation. if the pool loses more you have an unaccounted for loss of water.
    Great advice Kevin!