Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    I have really been struggling the last few days. I had gotten our water so clear and sparkly...but woke up the other morning to some slightly cloudy water. Afraid of a repeat of earlier this season, I started shocking. Raised the CL up to around 20 for a few days, no change in water. Raised it up to 31 one night, to have a huge decrease in my overnight test and keeping the pool at about 14 hasn't been able to remedy it. We got a HUGE rain today and now I feel like I'm back at square one. Here's the latest numbers:

    TC 11
    FC 10
    CC 1 (Ack!!!!)
    TA 120
    CYA 30
    pH purple...seriously, it was purple. I think it is well over the 7.8 or even 8.2 mark

    Just to recap, water is clear. I can see to the bottom just fine but it doesn't "sparkle" anymore.

    So, I'm adding more CYA tonight. I know I lost it all through backwashing, etc. I am going to have to go get acid tomorrow, I'm out. I know my TA is on the high end of acceptable, but its been that way all season.

    Does anyone else see anything that might be causing me to have so much trouble erradicating this? Per my pool calculator stats, 13 should be getting me to shock. The only other thing I can think of is the wedding cake stairs...maybe?
    26,000 gal liner IG pool
    Doughboy with concrete construction
    Full sun most of the day
    1.5 hp pump system
    200lb sand filter

  2. Back To Top    #2
    reebok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    a lot of people have issues with those steps. can you get behind them at all? you definitely need to be shocking as you know, and that ph needs to get down asap.
    16x32 21,000 gallon in-ground exposed aggregate, 1.5hp pump, 120 sqft catridge filter, birdcage, solar panels, aquavac tigershark qc robot.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    TizMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Covington, Georgia
    Posts
    920

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    We got rid of our wedding cake step just for that reason !! No water circulation behind them, put our original steps back in and havent had a problem since.
    Les
    Don't have a pool right now. Just sharing what I have learned over the years!
    Helpful Links:
    Pool School,Pool Calculator,Cl/CYA Shock Chart,TF Test Kit
    Doing BBB and loving it!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    Tizme- what kind of stairs did you go back to? We are at a disadvantage in that our inground is buried with a concrete deck around it, making a lot of the other step options unfeasible. I like having the wide wedding cake stairs because it is easier for my LARGE father to get in and out of the pool, but not at the expense of being unable to get our algae under control....kwim?

    Yeah Reebok....now I'm just at a loss as to what level of shock to bring it up to. I really wish I had a few days of vacation time left to just hyper monitor it for about 72 hours.

    Also, now that I have CYA in socks, at what point do I start assuming with the pool calculator that the CYA level has risen? Experts???
    26,000 gal liner IG pool
    Doughboy with concrete construction
    Full sun most of the day
    1.5 hp pump system
    200lb sand filter

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    924

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    Bring your ph down.

    As to your steps. Someone in another post mentioned they put several holes in the sides of their steps in order to improve circulation. If you at least put a couple of holes in you could perhaps use something like a turkey baster to put a good dose of liquid chlorine directly inside the steps.
    Buggs

    14,000 gallon, in ground, plaster, free form, play pool.
    Sta-Rite Max-E-Glass with a 1.5 hp Emerson motor
    WaterCo Micron High Rate sand filter S750 490 lb, 4883 sq ft - using ZeoBest
    In floor Polaris cleaning system
    Blue Diamond robot for those after storm days when I can't wait overnight for the in floor to clean it.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    Quote Originally Posted by hlemon
    Also, now that I have CYA in socks, at what point do I start assuming with the pool calculator that the CYA level has risen?
    Assume that the CYA level has gone up 24 hours after adding CYA.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    maybe I missed it, but do you have high CH levels? Given the high ph, perhaps it is calcium scaling causing the cloudiness?
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  8. Back To Top    #8
    TizMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Covington, Georgia
    Posts
    920

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    We went back to the steps that came with the pool. You can see a little bit of them in my avitar.
    Les
    Don't have a pool right now. Just sharing what I have learned over the years!
    Helpful Links:
    Pool School,Pool Calculator,Cl/CYA Shock Chart,TF Test Kit
    Doing BBB and loving it!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    Ok, I balanced the pH down to 7.5...maybe a little lower, but not much.

    We pulled out the cake stairs yesterday and I've got the CL at about 19. I'll check it again at lunch and bring it back up.

    If I had mustard algae, would I know it? Like would I have visable algae somewhere? The only thing I see is the transparent dead algae on the bottom of the pool that I keep brushing after it settles.
    26,000 gal liner IG pool
    Doughboy with concrete construction
    Full sun most of the day
    1.5 hp pump system
    200lb sand filter

  10. Back To Top    #10
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    Yes, mustard algae would be visibly growing, usually on the walls too and in the shady areas.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    ok, the water is starting to clear and I have kept the chlorine level up well above my minimum.(Though not always at shock) I STILL wake up in the morning and find "dust" gathered in my liner seams. Does this mean that I still have active algae? It isn't green, its a brown color. I just keep sweeping it to disperse and running the pump.

    I guess its now safe to go ahead and do my overnight test or do I have to wait until I don't get so much of this stuff gathering in the seams?
    26,000 gal liner IG pool
    Doughboy with concrete construction
    Full sun most of the day
    1.5 hp pump system
    200lb sand filter

  12. Back To Top    #12
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    The dust doesn't sound like algae to me, though it could be dead algae.

    Just do an overnight test to rule out organics.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Guest

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    I've got the same issue with algae and the steps. Thinking about buying a puck to install under steps; I'd like a really slooooow release one.

    I think that the dust is dead algae. I swept my pool this morning and had a mostly grey-ish or white dust. There was one area that was greenish even though I'm keeping my pool around 30 FC yesterday and today.

    I think mine must be mustard as it keeps sneaking back although I've kept the chlorine level fairly high this year. Just need to keep it higher. My water looks clear and sparkly; it's just the steps and sidewalls that periodically have green on them.

    Let me know if you figure out a good solution for those steps.

    Sue

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    Will do tonight pool mom!

    I know Shorelover....the cake steps from Hades! We're tying to figure out how many holes you could drill in the sides without losing any or much of the structural integrity.

    I resisted last year, but I really think that we need to add borates. I think we have such a hard time because of the size of our pool and the fact that it gets NO shade.
    26,000 gal liner IG pool
    Doughboy with concrete construction
    Full sun most of the day
    1.5 hp pump system
    200lb sand filter

  15. Back To Top    #15
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    If you don't want to go the borate route, the other option is weekly maintenance of PQ 60, although that can add up...

    I'd probably do the borates.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Guest

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    My pool mostly gets sun all day. It gets a little shade in the morning, and then very late afternoon. I have pines in the yard and lots of trees in the woods across the street, so I thought that I was having a pollen problem this year.

    I thought about drilling the steps also but am afraid that it would hurt them. Mine have holes in the back and are raised about 2" across the back but that's clearly not enough for proper circulation. I like being able to sit on them, and they're safer for guests but I had no idea they'd be so much trouble. There was another pair for half the price that probably got great circulation but I bought these thinking they'd be so much better! Wouldn't make that same decision today!

    Sue

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Re: Ack...I think I've got algae....AGAIN!

    It will be a rich person that invents cake steps for above grounds that are not algae incubators! If I was smarter, I'd develop one myself! Or some self contained fan type contraption that would use solar power to circulate the water underneath the stairs or something. Hmm....If only I had more brain power!
    26,000 gal liner IG pool
    Doughboy with concrete construction
    Full sun most of the day
    1.5 hp pump system
    200lb sand filter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •